Sherry's German Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cocinera
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This turned out great- the meat nearly fell off the bone, and this is only my second turkey ever to make. I made it as written, except I accidentally forgot the celery. I had to make my own Soul Food seasoning (via the help of another member)using: 2 T ground pepper, 2 T garlic powder, 2 T onion powder, 2 T chili powder, 1 t dried parsley, 1 T paprika, 1 T salt, 1 t ground thyme, 1 pinch cayenne pepper, and 1 t celery seed. I took the suggestion of another review and thickened the juices with a bit of flour, some sour cream, and a generous amount of black pepper to make a really good gravy. My dad said this turkey was better than his mom's, and that's huge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cocinera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
OMG! This was the best turkey ever. I admit that I am not a big roasted turkey fan so I'm always looking for new twist to spruce up a normally dry and tastless main course. This recipe did just that. It was easy to do the night before and it was gorgeous when it came out of the oven. I'm still getting phone calls for visitors about how moist and tasty the turkey was. I was expecting that the salt in the bacon would be too much but it was totally neutralized. I have never had a turkey fall off the bone will trying to carve it. This recipe is worth 10 stars but I can only give 5. P.S. Soul Food seasoning...is the same thing as McCormick's Seasonal or Lawry's Season Salt. I compared the labels. Eat and be Merry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
My very first turkey, and it got raves from the family!!! Of necessity I made my own soul food seasoning, left off the bacon, and used a roaster instead of a bag (I had it cover and basted it a few times.) I used the drippings, a dolop of sour cream and flour mixed in warm water to make the gravy....it was great. THANK YOU for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fingerlickin'good
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Over the years, we have cooked about 32 Thanksgiving dinners. I tried this recipe 2006, and it is the very best recipe by far. The turkey was mild and very juicy. Maybe it helped that we wrapped the turkey in aluminum foil. We removed it the last 50 minutes to get it brown and crispy. It was DELICIOUS !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingerlickin'good

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This turkey was wonderful, very moist. It was the best turkey I have ever fixed. I did have to cut up the veggies, apple and orange so they would fit in the cavity. Again, it was terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Nowhere did I read 2# of bacon for a 22# turkey. If you choose not to have 1# of bacon on an 18# turkey--either use less or another recipe. If you have not tried the original recipe--mouth shut! Only want your info if you have tried THIS RECIPE. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
The turkey came out very dry and the bacon was burnt onto the turkey. I followed the recipe to the T. Just didn't trun out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNYCUP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori W.
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I wanted to have a juicy turkey this year, because every other year its so dry. I ran across this recipe and gave it a try. The turkey was so good, tender and juicy. Everybody loved it and said it was this best ever. We're gonna start doing this every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori W.

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Burgaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
AMAZING! This was my third turkey in my home and I really wanted something with great flavor and was juicy! THIS IS IT! I do not use a turkey bag, and it has been great every time I use this recipe. I have also used the onion, celery, apple, orange, carrot, and seasoning for a simple whole chicken....AMAZING! Thank you, Sherry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Marshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Benning, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This turkey was amazing!! We did change things up a little bit for our puposes, but were very happy with the results! Once we stuffed the turkey with everything listed in the recipe we filled the cavity with a bottle of pinot grigio and poured the rest in the pan. We prepped the turkey with regular poultry seasoning instead of the soul food seasoning, and initially baked the turkey breast down (upside down) for 4 hours, basting and injecting with the wine and turkey drippings in the bottom of the pan. At the 4th hour we flipped the turkey, added the bacon, reduced heat to 300, and baked for 2 more hours. By far, this was one of the most tender and flavorful turkeys I have ever eaten!! We garnished the platter with sliced apple and orange to give a great color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States