Sherry's German Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
My very first turkey, and it got raves from the family!!! Of necessity I made my own soul food seasoning, left off the bacon, and used a roaster instead of a bag (I had it cover and basted it a few times.) I used the drippings, a dolop of sour cream and flour mixed in warm water to make the gravy....it was great. THANK YOU for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This turkey was wonderful, very moist. It was the best turkey I have ever fixed. I did have to cut up the veggies, apple and orange so they would fit in the cavity. Again, it was terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
Made the best turkey I ever had or prepared. The meats is very flavorful and juicy. Even though it's cooked in an oven bag, the skin still comes out very crisp and brown. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
The turkey came out very dry and the bacon was burnt onto the turkey. I followed the recipe to the T. Just didn't trun out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNYCUP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fingerlickin'good
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Over the years, we have cooked about 32 Thanksgiving dinners. I tried this recipe 2006, and it is the very best recipe by far. The turkey was mild and very juicy. Maybe it helped that we wrapped the turkey in aluminum foil. We removed it the last 50 minutes to get it brown and crispy. It was DELICIOUS !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingerlickin'good

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
All the flavor went into the meat and made it taste, gamey. It was very tender, but I was a bit disappointed that it fell apart when we tried to take it out of the bag. Also, the bacon was very dark, not burnt, but I would watch out for that next time. My mom was surprised that it turned out so crispy, the turkey I mean. Good recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVIELOVER19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori W.
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I wanted to have a juicy turkey this year, because every other year its so dry. I ran across this recipe and gave it a try. The turkey was so good, tender and juicy. Everybody loved it and said it was this best ever. We're gonna start doing this every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori W.

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Burgaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This was without a doubt the best turkey we have ever eaten. I do not cook much and it was easy and delicious. We are making it again at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I used this recipe Christmas 2006 and everyone loved it. The bacon bastes the Turkey for you. I will forever use this recipe. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States