Sherry's German Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
It's only my husband and myself tomorrow so I'm cooking a 6 1/2 lb breast in the crock pot while we're at the football game (GOOO LIONS!!) Do you think this would work if I put everything under the breast since I can't stuff it? And do you think I should add some water at the start of cooking? HELP please!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Roggin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
My mother in law taught me this method of roasting a turkey 35 years ago and I have never deviated. I do not although put it in a bag. Funny thing the bacon never makes it to the table. My husband is the happy picker as he carves the bird. My first turkey 40+ years ago came out like shredded wheat! So I guess I have learned a thing or two. hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Just wanted to add a little trivia, that draping a piece of meat with bacon or salt pork before roasting is a very old technique called "barding". Sounds delicious. Also wanted to tell user Ppquat that users of this site are allowed to make revisions to a recipe, and still rate it, so how about YOU, stop being rude. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife321

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Certainly a nice way of cooking a turkey if you prefer that method. Expect a good amount of fluid in the bag, the fact of the matter is that you are actually steaming the bird rather than dry roasting. And of course it is a matter of taste and my opinion is there is nothing at all like a dry roasted turkey. In addition, the use of a pound of bacon will most certainly result in " bacon flavoured " gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Turned out wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Nowhere did I read 2# of bacon for a 22# turkey. If you choose not to have 1# of bacon on an 18# turkey--either use less or another recipe. If you have not tried the original recipe--mouth shut! Only want your info if you have tried THIS RECIPE. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
My first attempt at a turkey ever. Couldn't have been better. Delicious and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is the first turkey I have ever made and I will not be looking for a different recipe. Makes the best bacon-turkey sandwiches! Also, use leftover meat for turkey and dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
fabulous, will make again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskaMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Photo by Tammy Weatherly
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I used this recipe to make my very first turkey and have used it several more times at other family functions - everyone who has had it has been a very big fan. I followed the recipe exactly and used the soul food spice recipe from one of the comments on this page. The only thing I change up is I cut up the fruits and veggies before I stick them in the turkey. It's always come out tender and the meat just falls right off of the bone. Try this recipe, I promise you wont be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Weatherly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States