Sherry's German Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Hoteamom
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made this recipe for Christmas day and got rave reviews on my turkey. I didn't follow the recipe exactly, like other reviewers, and it turned out fabulous. I used about 1.5 lbs. of bacon for an 16 lb. turkey. Basically I covered my turkey in bacon, once I had put it in the roaster, covered it with the lid & cooked it until the meat thermometer read 185 degrees. It made awesome gravy too. Neither the turkey nor the gravy was greasy at all. I used maple smoked bacon, not sure if that made a difference or not. I can't wait to cook a chicken or another turkey this way. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Took to hubby's office potluck, didn't have any left overs to take home even though there was another turkey, and two hams... I wouldn't make it just for us, but a major party hit. We usually roast in our large roasting appliance, but with the bacon this doesn't work well, you need it in the oven to brown the bacon evenly. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmmmerz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April Beep
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
So get this my mom fell broke her hip and congrats I am expected to make the turkey. Which for the record never have done. I saw this recipe last night fell in love and made it today! Not only did I successfully do the recipe but they loved it more than how they have been cooking it. My brother couldn't get over how moist it was! Only bad news is I'm expected to cook it next year no debates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVE this turkey! I make it every year now! Thanks for sharing it with us! = )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candytulip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albertville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was fabulous! I had never made a turkey before and I made this in my crockpot because I had to work and that seemed the easiest way to cook it without drying it out while I was gone. I got rave reviews from all guests and several said it was the best turkey they EVER ate and it wassooo juicy and tender. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Easterling

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I have never made a turkey before, but my husband challedged me to try it- and THIS recipe is AWESOME! Turkey came out very moist and delicious, the meat just fell off the bone when we tried to carve it. I was very worried about the combination of flavors but I should not have been. Absolutely incredible recipe, thank you!! **I did not have, and could not find, Soul Food Seasoning. I Googled the ingredients instead and sprinkled a little bit of each all over the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I used this recipe to make my very first christmas turkey everyone LOVED it my husband raves about it and my 90 year old grandmother had seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This will be the 3rd year I've made the turkey this way. Everyone that tries it loves it. The taste is fantastic and it is so moist. I will never make a turkey another way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Awesome!!! I found this about four years ago and we make it every year...I even prepare a bird for everyone at work when I work on Turkey Day (we're military-we work all holidays)...I get RAVE reviews every year...I've even started using it on my chicken dinners!!! Try it, you will NOT be disappointed!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly, as I always do with new recipes. This was, without a doubt, the BEST turkey I've ever cooked. We used a 13 lb. Butterball and adjusted the amounts accordingly. The family raved and the four of us ate this turkey in two days. Succulent, flavorful, and fork tender, tender, tender! Absolutely wonderful. Thank you, Sherry!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States