Sherry Wine Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This was surprisingly good. I didn't know what it would be like opening up all those cans. I added a lot of fresh ground black pepper. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
My mother has been making a dish like this since I was a little boy. I make it without the mushroom soup though. It is very easy to make and is incredible over white rice with Pillsbury crescent rolls or biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Made this tonight for me and my wife, substituted a can of golden mushroom soup, added sauteed mushrooms and onions, added 4 oz. cream cheese, added 1 cup artichoke hearts. Was tempted to add garlic but did not want it to steal the flavor of the cream sherry, so did not add it. Served this over linguine. Oh, my goodness was it ever good! I just had to brag about it on my Facebook page!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was a winner in my house! Very easy! I used white wine instead of sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This is a recipe that my grandmother used to make and my entire family loves it. It's funny to me that my mother & step-father make it and also my father & step-mother. We actually switch it up occasionally with marsala instead of sherry, both are good. My mother omits the cream of chicken soup and I like it that way better. It is one of those things that I can throw together real fast if I just have a tub of sour cream and a can of cream of mushroom soup. (I use one can of soup and 1/3 cup of sour cream, 1/4 cup of sherry).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Terrific! easy & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Delicious but needs a little tweaking. My husband suggested that maybe next time I could add mushrooms, and some parsley for some color. I halved the recipe and had an abundance of sauce as well so I recommend cutting back to anyone reading the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This recipe needed some work. I added 1tsp Thyme. I only used 1 can of each cream of... and 4 oz sour cream. Add to this a cup of half and half so it is not so thick. I also chopped and sauted an onion and to make a pot pie kind of filling added fresh peas,carrots and potatoes. Serve this with some bisquits and you have an easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
only used half the recommended soups and sour cream. before I put the chicken in the soup mix, I dusted them with a little salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder. It still seemed like I could have cut the soup mixture down even more but got rave reviews on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Mother and I have this recipe but with a few changes. We cut the breasts into bite sized pieces, flour them with salt added and sautee. Also we add about 1 lb of sauteed mushrooms and onion.Instead of sherry we use a light white wine or chablis as it is not as strong as the sherry. My family loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States