Sherry Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I have never come back to write a review the same night I make a recipe, but I had to -- this was INCREDIBLY DELICIOUS! Just used some suggestions from other reviews, 4 apples, doubled br. sugar, cinnamon & butter & last 10 mins. added a 1/4 more of sherry mixed with 2T. corn starch & perfecto! I will make this again & again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina B. Cookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: York, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I did something slightly different with this recipe. First, I put salt and pepper on the chops and browned them lightly in my cast iron skillet. I removed them and sauteed my apples in some butter, adding in the brown sugar and cinnamon. Once the sugar was melted, I put the chops back in the skillet and poured about half a cup of apple juice over it all, and placed the skillet in a 350 degree oven for about 30 minutes or so. I added some cornstarch to the liquid about 10 minutes before it was done to thicken the sauce. I added apple juice instead of sherry because I didn't have any and I'm also not too crazy about the flavor of wine or sherry in food. My family really enjoyed it this way, even my picky 6 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
very very good comfort food. Following advice I saw in several places, I did marinade the pork for 6 hours in 1 c apple juice, 2 T soy sauce. I did brown the pork first, then cooked the apples in the frying pan I'd cooked the pork in. I used the leftover marinade as part of the sauce--doubled the sauce too. Then poured it all over the chops, cooked for about 45 minutes in the oven. At the end I pulled out the pork and added corn starch mixed with sherry to the pan and cooked a little longer until it thickened. I also made mashed potatoes and put the sauce over the potatoes. It was fabulous. Wonderful meal. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jj_howell27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntley, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
DELICIOUS!! I made this last night doubling the sauce. I used bone-in, 1” thick chops. First I seasoned the chops with garlic salt and pepper, then browned the chops in an oven-proof skillet, added the apples on top (also threw in some dried cranberries), sprinkled with brown sugar and cinnamon, dotted with butter and poured the sherry over all. Covered and baked for 25 minutes. I removed my skillet from the oven, removed the chops and kept them warm, while I thickened the sauce on the cook top with 1 T. of cornstarch and a little water (which made my sauce plenty thick enough). I plated the chops and spooned the sauce over top. My only issue with this recipe is the cooking time of one hour! Way too long, IMHO! Perhaps that’s a personal preference, but even my 25 minutes was a bit too long! Adjust the cooking time and you’ve got a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
YUM!!! I wasn't too sure about cooking pork chops this way, but they were great! I put everything in my crock pot and just let it cook for about 5 hrs. It was great. We'll be making this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Huntingtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
The sauce is too liquid, the taste is O.K. Needs a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I cooked the apples first with extra brown sugar, cinnamon and sherry and added a bit of nutmeg. When the apples were pretty soft, I put them in the bottom of the pan. Then seared the pork chops, added onto the apples and baked for an hour. But the flavors are so amazing. The whole entire pan was eaten. Even my 5 year old ate the chops AND the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I threw the brown sugar, cinnamon, butter and sherry in the cast iron skillet AFTER I browned the chops to grab those little bits in the bottom of the pan. The sauce seemed thin to me, so I threw in another quarter cup of brown sugar and a couple more healthy pats of butter. The end result was fantastic. Next time, I'd use another apple or two because we were fighting over the apples that were left and there weren't any to go in the foil with the last remaining pork chop and I'd also double the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I give this a 5 star. It's a family favorite. I make mine with apple pie filling and I top the dish with stuffing. It's simple to make and delicious. There is never any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
This was great! My husband hates apple pie so I thought this might be too much for him. He LOVED it!! I used only four 1/2 in chops and kept recipe the same - except cook time was only 35-40 min. I wanted to try out an oven bag I bought, (no mess), and it worked unbelievably well with this! I put chops on bottom as another reviewer suggested and added cornstarch to sherry. Excellent!! I knew I would like it but for my husband, (a cooked apple hater), this recipe is a raving success! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETRIE27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States