Sherry Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Sinfully delicious! Scaled for 2. Used 2 thick boneless chops browned chops in oven-proof skillet; added 2 sliced apples on top; doubled brown sugar, cinnamon & sprinkled on top, dot w/butter; substituted chick broth for sherry (didn't have on hand) & poured over all. Covered & baked 20 min. Removed chops & kept warm, thickened sauce w/1 Tsp. of cornstarch & chick broth. Next time will definitely use sherry! Hubby couldn't stop raving or eating this wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
We loved this recipe, both for its ease and it's flavour. The second time I made it, I added baby carrots in with the pork chops when I was browning them. A very slight sprinkling of almond slivers, just before serving, added the 'crunch' factor we enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I have tried several recipes on this site and have adjusted many of them to suit what I am looking for at the time . This one can easily be adapted to a more creamy/thick sauce by adding starch or whipping cream but its simplicity allows for you to prepare more robust accompaniments. The pork turns out so flavorful and if you top it with the apples only, do not be afraid to let the drippings go. I think this dish can stand on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
These were wonderful and very tasty! I followed a lot of other reviewer's and doubled the brown sugar, cinnamon and butter. I also added 2T cornstarch to an additional 1/4 C. sherry to add for the final 10 mins. I think I may have over baked the chops a bit so next time I will cut down the total baking time to only 35 mins. instead of the 50 mins that I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Made this last night. It was very good. I was using Corningware so browned the chops in the dish stove top, set the chops aside, assembled the dish, put chops back on top and baked. Added some sauteed onions I had in frige and a little garlic. Will make again and thinking of trying Brandy instead of Sherry next time. I made a smaller serving with two chops. Served it with white and wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made this last week while visiting my parents for Christmas and we all loved it. I followed the basic recipe, only adding a touch of cardamom along with the cinnamon and brown sugar and since we didn't have sherry on hand, I used apple juice. It was totally YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clgarman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ephrata, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Absolutely phenomenal dish. The only change I made was to salt & pepper the chops as they browned on both sides. It was so easy. Thanks Christy J, I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was a great recipe. I fixed it for Christmas Eve dinner with family and it was a huge hit, even with the kids. The leftovers heated up well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was a good way to end a day of work. I would make this dish of a group of friends. I know they will leave the dinner party feeling like I did Full and Wanting more. Thumps Up!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made this on Christmas Eve and everyone loved it! I did add the extra sherry and cornflour just before the end of cooking. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States