Sherry Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This had a wonderful aroma as it was cooking. I would have rated it 5 stars, except the pork was overdone after an hour. I used nice thick chops, almost an inch thick, and they were dry. There was lots of liquid in the pan, and I covered the pan as directed. The apples had a great flavor and we liked it well enough to do again, so I will test the temperature after 30 minutes. New guidelines for internal temperature for pork are 145.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
These were very good! I didn't have any sherry so I used red wine instead, but otherwise I changed nothing. I think next time I want to try them with sherry and do them in the slow cooker like some of the other reviewers have done. It is a very good recipe as written!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I think that perhaps this just wasn't as flavorful as I had hoped. I followed the recipe exactly but it was just too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McDonough Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
My family liked these...I didnt have the dry sherry so i used butterschotch schepps instead and i added caramel and honey butter to the apples before cooking..came out sweet ut good. i will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
My husband, son and I loved this!!! I put all the ingredients in the crock pot, but used a pork roast instead of pork chops and it was WONDERFUL! Nothing left! I served it over rice that I had added some cinnamon, crushed red pepper flakes, salt, pepper, garlic and just a dash of nutmeg. Couldnt ask for a better recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ImThePrincess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
These were tasty and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I tried to cut this in half,cooking for 2 now.The broth or gravy whatever you want to call it,was a little to thin for my liking.apples were good,it all went well together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dwight, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was OK. I used regular chops, not extra thick ones, and after an hour, they were dry. If I make this again, I will probably start the apple mixture first (adding some cornstarch and more of everything else), and add the chops for the last 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
The sauce was very runny and too thin, but the taste was awesome. Next time, I will try a little cornstarch to make it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jefferson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Warrensville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
DELICIOUS!!! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! I seasoned the pork chops with salt and pepper while browning them in a little olive oil. I also used Granny Smith apples and they baked for a total of 50 minutes. A wonderful dish for autumn and definitely can be served to company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States