Sherry Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
YUM! I seasoned the pork chops with salt and pepper before searing and added fennel to the sliced apples, because I don't like my food to be too sweet. When the cops were done, I poured off some of the juices into a saucepan, brought it to a low boil until it was reduced by half, then finished with a little butter. Very good and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tam

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Freedom, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I also used apple pie filling & pork stuffing. Think 40 minutes is long enough to bake. Hubby took 1 bite & and said it was great & gave me that greatful look that says I can cook as good as Mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This recipe surpassed my expectations. I did thicken the sauce afterward by taking a cup of cold apple juice and mixing it with cornstarch and letting the cooked apples w sauce come to a boil with the apple juice concoction. Served it with stuffing on the side; I think can easily be a weeknight dinner regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
A delicious combination of flavors. Did it a bit differently, without changing the concept or flavors. Had a pork tenderloin (1.3#). Cut it in half crosswise and browned the two halves in butter in a big cast-iron skillet. Added the apples (used 3 medium Grannies) and also added about 12 ounces of chunked butternut squash which needed to be used. Added 1 tsp cinnamon and the 1/4c of sugar, but also added about 1 tsp ground ginger. Poured the sherry over and covered fairly loosely with foil. Roasted it about 30 minutes until the temp in the pork was 160. Served over jasmine rice. Wonderful combination of flavors, and easy to do. DH loved it. And the house smelled SO good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I must be on a lucky string - I'm choosing 5* recipes these days. This one is a 'keeper' - the combination of the apple/cinnamon/butter/sherry is a flavour that defies description. So easy to put together! Would be proud to serve for guests coming over...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I give this a 5 star. It's a family favorite. I make mine with apple pie filling and I top the dish with stuffing. It's simple to make and delicious. There is never any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I am giving this 4 stars because it had really good flavor. However, I tried making the sauce into gravy like one of the review suggested, but there was not enough liquid and it didn't taste right. I thought the best compliment to this dish would be stuffing. Perhaps next time I will add a little broth and some stuffing and make a casserole out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I cooked the apples first with extra brown sugar, cinnamon and sherry and added a bit of nutmeg. When the apples were pretty soft, I put them in the bottom of the pan. Then seared the pork chops, added onto the apples and baked for an hour. But the flavors are so amazing. The whole entire pan was eaten. Even my 5 year old ate the chops AND the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
These are so, so good - easy to prepare, do their own thing in the oven - and taste amazing. I used windfall apples from my garden, which made it taste all the sweeter! Well worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Dyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chorley, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This was very good! I used 10 small, 1/2" thick boneless chops and an oven bag, as another reviewer recommended. The chops took considerably less than 1 hr to cook. I did think it was a little sweet, and lacking in saltiness or "umami"-- next time, will probably reduce some of the juices with a chicken bouillon cube just to make the gravy a little more savory. Still, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States