Sherry Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I made this last night and it was great! I don't usually like cooked apples, but this was superb. I did add some apple sauce and served it over quinoa. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Overall it was ok but not something I plan on making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Very good, not quite as much of the wow factor as I expected though. I seasoned and seared the pork first, and also briefly cooked the apples with the cinnamon and sugar before putting in the baking dish. Great flavor and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
really good! I used both sherry and apple juice, and threw some chopped almonds and amaretto in there for fun...came out excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Pork chops were moist and delicious (boneless chops seasoned with Montreal Steak Seasoning) - cooked for 40 minutes until they reached 160 degrees. Used Granny Smith Green Apples sliced into 1/8ths and they kind of lost their flavor (I didn't peel the skins off and they kept intact). I used Trader Joe's Spiced Apple Cider and Pinot Grigio White Wine. I know, I know, I should not change the recipe but I ran out of Sherry! A bit of Spiced Apple Cider and Cornstarch to thicken. Added raisins as another suggested and they loved that! Served over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
The cooking time really is dependent upon how thick your chops are, and I think the recipe should make note of that. Mine were bone-in, center-cup chops about 3/4" thick. I checked them at 30 minutes, and the thermometer read 165 degrees F, totally overcooked. In spite of the dryness, the flavor was excellent, and the broth made a fantastic sauce thickened with a cornstarch slurry. Definitely will try this again, next time starting to check at 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Really good! My daughter 99.9% of the time does not care for what I make for dinner. BUT she has asked for this almost weekly (and twice the first week) since I found this recipe! I use the sauce as gravy over mashed potatoes so I'll double or triple that part (still excellent flavor) thanks for this "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ktAZ
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
AWESOME fall recipe! The cinnamon hit the spot. I added gold and regular raisins and 2 cinnamon sticks to the baking pans. The raisins really added a great sweetness to the overall flavor. I didn't have sherry, so I used a bourbon and it was still really good! 10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktAZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
The pork chops were very dry, so an hour was too long. And the apples were very mushy - there was too much liquid! As I took it out of the oven I considered pouring off the extra liquid, then decided to move the pork and "apple stew" into a bowl with and served it with ladle. Not exactly what I had in mind, and unfortunately I did not read the reviews which would have helped with this problem a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patterson, New York, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe. I see some people mentioning a missing WOW factor and the pork chops drying out. I add a few cloves, a little nutmeg and allspice (just a little), and onions. And if you want moist pork, I highly recommend using a tenderloin or pork butt roast instead of chops. I salt and pepper the roast, then I rub it with brown sugar. If I have time, I brown on all sides in a frying pan then put it in the roasting pan on top of the apples, onions and spices and sherry (sometimes I add a little apple juice too) and roast it according to the recipe. I serve it with mashed potatoes because the sherry sauce makes a nice gravy. I think I'm going to make it for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States