Sherry Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
A delicious combination of flavors. Did it a bit differently, without changing the concept or flavors. Had a pork tenderloin (1.3#). Cut it in half crosswise and browned the two halves in butter in a big cast-iron skillet. Added the apples (used 3 medium Grannies) and also added about 12 ounces of chunked butternut squash which needed to be used. Added 1 tsp cinnamon and the 1/4c of sugar, but also added about 1 tsp ground ginger. Poured the sherry over and covered fairly loosely with foil. Roasted it about 30 minutes until the temp in the pork was 160. Served over jasmine rice. Wonderful combination of flavors, and easy to do. DH loved it. And the house smelled SO good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I must be on a lucky string - I'm choosing 5* recipes these days. This one is a 'keeper' - the combination of the apple/cinnamon/butter/sherry is a flavour that defies description. So easy to put together! Would be proud to serve for guests coming over...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I give this a 5 star. It's a family favorite. I make mine with apple pie filling and I top the dish with stuffing. It's simple to make and delicious. There is never any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I am giving this 4 stars because it had really good flavor. However, I tried making the sauce into gravy like one of the review suggested, but there was not enough liquid and it didn't taste right. I thought the best compliment to this dish would be stuffing. Perhaps next time I will add a little broth and some stuffing and make a casserole out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I cooked the apples first with extra brown sugar, cinnamon and sherry and added a bit of nutmeg. When the apples were pretty soft, I put them in the bottom of the pan. Then seared the pork chops, added onto the apples and baked for an hour. But the flavors are so amazing. The whole entire pan was eaten. Even my 5 year old ate the chops AND the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
These are so, so good - easy to prepare, do their own thing in the oven - and taste amazing. I used windfall apples from my garden, which made it taste all the sweeter! Well worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathjdyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chorley, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This was very good! I used 10 small, 1/2" thick boneless chops and an oven bag, as another reviewer recommended. The chops took considerably less than 1 hr to cook. I did think it was a little sweet, and lacking in saltiness or "umami"-- next time, will probably reduce some of the juices with a chicken bouillon cube just to make the gravy a little more savory. Still, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was truly a great dish! I didn't have any sherry so I used apple cider and mixed garlic powder in it. I had garlic potatoes on the side, tomato slices, it was all a great fall meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Put everything in crockpot for 6 hrs - It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
DELICIOUS!! I made this last night doubling the sauce. I used bone-in, 1” thick chops. First I seasoned the chops with garlic salt and pepper, then browned the chops in an oven-proof skillet, added the apples on top (also threw in some dried cranberries), sprinkled with brown sugar and cinnamon, dotted with butter and poured the sherry over all. Covered and baked for 25 minutes. I removed my skillet from the oven, removed the chops and kept them warm, while I thickened the sauce on the cook top with 1 T. of cornstarch and a little water (which made my sauce plenty thick enough). I plated the chops and spooned the sauce over top. My only issue with this recipe is the cooking time of one hour! Way too long, IMHO! Perhaps that’s a personal preference, but even my 25 minutes was a bit too long! Adjust the cooking time and you’ve got a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States