Sherry Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
A lot of people said they were increasing the sauce and apples, so since there were two people I just kept the recipe the same and used two thick bone in pork chops. I made a couple of small changes and they were AMAZING. I put the apples in the bottom of the pan but mixed the butter/cinnamon/brown sugar together before kinda smearing it on. I rubbed the chops with salt and pepper before browning them then, when I put them in the pan, put some apples and cinnamon goop on top, around, and under the meat. I also used just a tiny bit more sherry and made sure to flip and stir the chops around while they were baking so they stayed moist. I cooked them for slightly under an hour, 50 min I think? The most important thing I think is just to make sure to flip the meat a bit while cooking so it doesn't dry out, and to have some apple mixture on top and below it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I followed the recipe almost exactly. I had 4 chops instead of 6 but it still filled the pan and I used a sauvignon blanc instead of sherry. It was amazing! But I would make one small change on how I cooked it. I would put the apples on top next time, it seemed that's where all the flavor went. Really simple to do too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I didn't have the sherry but my hubby and I thought this was a do again recipe. I made it only for two and it turned out great. Very easy. It took longer to thaw out the chops than it did to make it. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
These were really tasty. Apples and pork chops go real good together. And the sherry made it wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This is a decent recipe. There is nothing spectacular about it. You taste all the ingredients, apples, brown sugar and cinnamon along with a bit of sherry taste, but it is a bit too liquid even with the added cornstarch someone suggested. Will pass on this after trying it tonight. I have a feeling that similar ingredients cooked differently might taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Delicious! I only cooked the pork chops for about 40 minutes (instead of an hour) and I probably could have cooked it for less time since they were a little too well done. I also took the apples and juice out of the pan after I baked the chops, poured it into a saucepan, added a little spoonful of brown sugar and flour, and cooked the mixture for a few minutes over the stove just to make the apples softer and the sauce thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS. I followed Gina B. Cookin's advice and doubled the butter, brown sugar and cinnamon, which I combined together and dropped in clumps onto four sliced apples which were cut onto the bottom of my baking dish (I also sprinkled dried cranberries on top of the apples, about 1/2 cup). I browned my pork chops in coconut oil and sprinkled s&p on them,then placed them on top of the apples & cranberries and brown sugar mixture. I poured the sherry over all, covered and baked for 45 minutes. Then I removed the foil and broiled on high for 10 minutes. I combined a little more than 1/4 cup of sherry with 2 T cornstarch and poured it here and there in the sauce in the pan and stirred to thicken the sauce. The apples were not mushy and there was a good amount of sauce which I also used to top mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MET88

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
It was too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
on my second cooking of this meal I used a bit more sugar and deglazed the skillet with sherry I seared the chops in and poured that over the chops and apples and also a pinch all spice kind of added a bit more zing to the flavor and a nice under taste But this was a great recipe thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This rocks! I did add my own touch, which is why I will give it 4 stars... first, I seasoned the chops very well with salt and pepper. I seared them until good and brown in EVOO/butter. Then I tossed in the apples and some thinly sliced onion. I sprinkled the brown sugar and cinnamon on top and splashed the sherry over the whole thing. A little extra pinch of salt and pepper and I covered this and let it all simmer on the stove top, about 15 more min. At the very end, I added a little corn starch slurry to thicken the juices. My hubby and I devoured our chops and were picking at the remaining apples that were left in the pan... perfectly sweet and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockerchic821

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States