Sherry Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I am a novice cook, so I followed the recipe to the letter. It could not have turned out better; there were no leftovers. Easily mine and my husband's favorite out of all the dishes we've tried lately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morrighan31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adairsville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I didn't have any sherry but I had some red wine. Turned out to be really good anyway. Great flavor in the chops. Will have to buy a bottle of sherry for the next and there will be a next time. Nancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
UNBELIEVEBLE !!! Doubled everything except for Apples and Pork,to have more sauce,and served it with Mashed Potatoes.My 10 year old said I should make this once a week.I used Sheffield Cream Sherry.You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nlundgren

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Oh this looks so yummy!! I can’t wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Excellent as written! Tender and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Sinfully delicious! Scaled for 2. Used 2 thick boneless chops browned chops in oven-proof skillet; added 2 sliced apples on top; doubled brown sugar, cinnamon & sprinkled on top, dot w/butter; substituted chick broth for sherry (didn't have on hand) & poured over all. Covered & baked 20 min. Removed chops & kept warm, thickened sauce w/1 Tsp. of cornstarch & chick broth. Next time will definitely use sherry! Hubby couldn't stop raving or eating this wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
We loved this recipe, both for its ease and it's flavour. The second time I made it, I added baby carrots in with the pork chops when I was browning them. A very slight sprinkling of almond slivers, just before serving, added the 'crunch' factor we enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I have tried several recipes on this site and have adjusted many of them to suit what I am looking for at the time . This one can easily be adapted to a more creamy/thick sauce by adding starch or whipping cream but its simplicity allows for you to prepare more robust accompaniments. The pork turns out so flavorful and if you top it with the apples only, do not be afraid to let the drippings go. I think this dish can stand on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
These were wonderful and very tasty! I followed a lot of other reviewer's and doubled the brown sugar, cinnamon and butter. I also added 2T cornstarch to an additional 1/4 C. sherry to add for the final 10 mins. I think I may have over baked the chops a bit so next time I will cut down the total baking time to only 35 mins. instead of the 50 mins that I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Made this last night. It was very good. I was using Corningware so browned the chops in the dish stove top, set the chops aside, assembled the dish, put chops back on top and baked. Added some sauteed onions I had in frige and a little garlic. Will make again and thinking of trying Brandy instead of Sherry next time. I made a smaller serving with two chops. Served it with white and wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States