Sherry Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This is a great dish however; be sure to use thicker pork chops or cook a little less time if thinner chops are used or the meat will be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Made this last night and YUM!! Didn't have pork chops, so I used pork steak instead. All I had was fuji apples and I didn't bother to peel them. Definitely use the previous advice of removing the pork chops when done, putting the sauce in a pot, and boil with a little cornstarch to thicken. It also intensified the apple flavor. **Instead of cooking sherry, I keep the small single-serving size bottles of Sutter Home wine. You can get them in the 4-pack at any grocery store. That way I don't have to pop open a large bottle for a small amount and risk it going to waste because I don't use it very often. I always have a pack of white and red on hand. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjsboutique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This is great! I also grill the chops and use the apples on them after they come off of the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I had no sherry so used port instesd. Tasted great. I used an apple slcer to speed up the cutting so everthing was really speedy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Oops, I mistakenly grabbed the bottle of Marsala wine instead of Sherry, so we ended up with “Marsala Apple Pork Chops” instead. It still turned out delicious. I added some chopped pecans over the apples before popping it into the oven. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Use fresh pork chops not frozen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Followed recipe as written except seasoned pork chops with salt and pep, sprinkled nutmeg on top of apples, deglazed pan with 2 Tbsp of sherry, and last 10 mins I added 1 Tbsp of cornstarch with 1/4 cup sherry to thicken sauce. Ooowhee good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eatonton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I've made this twice, once with apple pie filling like suggested and th next exactly like the recipe. Loved them both! And will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
made this for dinner tonight. followed the recipe almost to a T. only changed a few VERY minor things. salted the chops before browning them, then deglazed the pan with the sherry before adding it to the pan to go into the oven. covered and baked for about 45 minutes because my chops are thin, didnt want them to dry out. thickened the sauce with cornstarch and poured it over. it was SO freaking good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very ordinary. Nothing special about this recipe. I did make it with apple juice and not Sherry. Won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States