Sherry Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I just made for Easter dinner tonight and it was great. I too, thickened the drippings with cornstarch and water for those who wanted a dark sweet gravy for the mashed potatoes. Fantastic dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I did them in the slow cooker and threw in an extra apple since I had just one left. One poster said not to do em in the slow cooker as they came out hard and dry. I just can't picture how anything coming out of a slow cooker can come out hard and dry if the lid was on tight. The apples did come out overcooked though. Will try again in the regular oven/family did like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This was a fabulous upgrade from other apple pork chop recipes I've tried in the past. I followed the recipe almost as instructed, but instead of baking it pan fried the pork chops and then made the sauce in the same pan until it thickened a bit. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison.allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I threw the brown sugar, cinnamon, butter and sherry in the cast iron skillet AFTER I browned the chops to grab those little bits in the bottom of the pan. The sauce seemed thin to me, so I threw in another quarter cup of brown sugar and a couple more healthy pats of butter. The end result was fantastic. Next time, I'd use another apple or two because we were fighting over the apples that were left and there weren't any to go in the foil with the last remaining pork chop and I'd also double the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Absolutely delish! I browned the chops, removed them, then quick-sauteed a thin-sliced large white onion in addition to the apples in the same pan. Added the cinnamon and just a little sugar, then sherry. I put the chops on top and baked 350 for an hour. OMG everyone loved it, even the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Microwave version; I made this tonight and it was yuummmm! I seared thin chops in olive oil and garlic till almost done, cooked the apples and raisins in same oil, added other ingrediants to skillet, cooked 5 minuets. put 2 chops in bottom of a glass meatloaf pan put 1/2 of apple mixture on top, then 2 chops and other half. covered with saran wrap, poked a steam hole and microwaved for 10 minuets at 70% power........awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made this using thick boneless pork chops that I soaked in a brine for an hour or two beforehand...I seasoned the brine with some of the same flavors as this dish (brown sugar, apples, cinnamon, also some smashed garlic cloves, a bit of thyme). Then followed this recipe...and I had two family members say they were the best pork chops they have ever had. I did also sprinkle some thyme on with the salt and pepper (I had some fresh thyme that day, can you tell?). Out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Awesome! Besides adding a little extra sherry towards the end w/cornstarch, I might have been a little stingy w/the brn sugar since i was eyeballing it, but that's ok since i was hoping for an even balance w/sweet & savory...This was a kick(ur taste)buds concept/recipe! Thanks for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hubbardston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I did the recipe as directed, except that i put them in the slow cooker as someone else suggested. After five hours, they were hard dry tasteless lumps. So .. word to the wise: avoid the slow cooker with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaryP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Very Delicious! I used pears as that is what I had and it was amazing. I microwaved the sliced pears one minute to get the juices started before baking. I also put pears on top and bottom to keep in moisture of the pork.I also melted a whole stick of butter and sauce was very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States