Sherry Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I browned two boneless pork chops in cast iron pan, pushed them to one side, then in same pan I made two stacks of sliced Granny Smith apples, topped with the brown sugar, cinnamon, butter and the pork chops and added 1/2 C Sherry. Then placed the pan in the oven for only 30 minutes. Even though this amount of sauce is the recommended amount for 6 pork chops, we used the entire amount for our two pork chops because the sauce was so delicious. This is a KEEPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I substituted the pork chops with Johnsonville hot Italian sausage and did everything else the same. This turned out phenomenal! I served it over some creamy Parmesan polenta. This will for sure become a fall favorite for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aneta96
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I went apple picking and had no idea what to do with all the apples. Came across this recipe and I loved it! My husband was so surprised that it tasted so good! I will definitely make it again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aneta96

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Justice, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
A lot of people said they were increasing the sauce and apples, so since there were two people I just kept the recipe the same and used two thick bone in pork chops. I made a couple of small changes and they were AMAZING. I put the apples in the bottom of the pan but mixed the butter/cinnamon/brown sugar together before kinda smearing it on. I rubbed the chops with salt and pepper before browning them then, when I put them in the pan, put some apples and cinnamon goop on top, around, and under the meat. I also used just a tiny bit more sherry and made sure to flip and stir the chops around while they were baking so they stayed moist. I cooked them for slightly under an hour, 50 min I think? The most important thing I think is just to make sure to flip the meat a bit while cooking so it doesn't dry out, and to have some apple mixture on top and below it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I followed the recipe almost exactly. I had 4 chops instead of 6 but it still filled the pan and I used a sauvignon blanc instead of sherry. It was amazing! But I would make one small change on how I cooked it. I would put the apples on top next time, it seemed that's where all the flavor went. Really simple to do too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I didn't have the sherry but my hubby and I thought this was a do again recipe. I made it only for two and it turned out great. Very easy. It took longer to thaw out the chops than it did to make it. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
These were really tasty. Apples and pork chops go real good together. And the sherry made it wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This is a decent recipe. There is nothing spectacular about it. You taste all the ingredients, apples, brown sugar and cinnamon along with a bit of sherry taste, but it is a bit too liquid even with the added cornstarch someone suggested. Will pass on this after trying it tonight. I have a feeling that similar ingredients cooked differently might taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Delicious! I only cooked the pork chops for about 40 minutes (instead of an hour) and I probably could have cooked it for less time since they were a little too well done. I also took the apples and juice out of the pan after I baked the chops, poured it into a saucepan, added a little spoonful of brown sugar and flour, and cooked the mixture for a few minutes over the stove just to make the apples softer and the sauce thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS. I followed Gina B. Cookin's advice and doubled the butter, brown sugar and cinnamon, which I combined together and dropped in clumps onto four sliced apples which were cut onto the bottom of my baking dish (I also sprinkled dried cranberries on top of the apples, about 1/2 cup). I browned my pork chops in coconut oil and sprinkled s&p on them,then placed them on top of the apples & cranberries and brown sugar mixture. I poured the sherry over all, covered and baked for 45 minutes. Then I removed the foil and broiled on high for 10 minutes. I combined a little more than 1/4 cup of sherry with 2 T cornstarch and poured it here and there in the sauce in the pan and stirred to thicken the sauce. The apples were not mushy and there was a good amount of sauce which I also used to top mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ellen Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States