Shepherd's Turkey Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Good basic recipe, however I have added cheese on top of the potatoes and then put it into the oven. I have also put an egg wash on top of the potatoes and baked in the oven - this way there is no need to place under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I've been making our shepherd's pie like this since I found Ellie Kreiger's recipe last year. I add more onion and some chopped celery & bell pepper, and sometimes even some sliced mushrooms, to the turkey saute, along with garlic powder, poultry seasoning and some cajun seasoning as ground turkey can be very bland. I too add a little grated cheese to the top. This makes for a delcious and healthy version, plus you can sneak all kinds of veggies into the meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Other reviewers suggestions made this recipe extra good. Added the mushrooms, celery, extra onion, and minced garlic. Put shredded cheese over the top and cooked for the last 10 minutes. Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Floyds Knobs, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cora
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
My boyfriend and I made this for dinner tonight and boy was I pleasantly surprised! We did add garlic powder, onion powder, celery salt, paprika, and a few dashes of tapatio to the meat mixture. Added some cheese to the top before broiling. And we used a 9x9 dish instead of a 9x12. Other than that, we followed the recipe to a tee. I can't believe the mashed potato/cauliflower was so delicious without using milk or butter! We definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This recipe is good. However there is one correction I'd like to make about the description of it on the "daily email". Colcannon with cauliflower tastes good, but it is NOT an "Irish flavor reminiscent of colcannon". Colcannon is mashed potatoes with kale (the Irish call it curly kale).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I really liked this recipe- I've made the same Sheperd's pie recipe for the last several years and wanted something more fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
i really enjoyed this variation. So much healthier with the turkey. I actually used beef broth in with the potatoes because i already had it open. I think it gave it a darker taste, which i actually preferred. I also took the reviewers suggestions and used a pkg of frozen mixed veggies and also put the cheese and egg wash on top of the potatoes. (i would have used cauliflower mixed with the potatoes if i had cauliflower on hand, which i didnt. it definitely is an awesome mix together when done though. Would definitely make this style shepherd's pie again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookingwithpanda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
followed exact recipe. not bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
bland. good with ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Was pretty good, I added Lipton beefy onion soup mix. It gave it a more savory flavor, and still used the ground turkey! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States