Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Didn't have cream of celery, so I just added a little bit of sour cream & milk. Very good! Thanks for the twist on the traditional Shepherd's pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I've always used cream of mushroom in my shepherd's pie. I didn't follow all steps though. I used 1lb ground turkey, 2 pouches of garlic & herb mashed potato mix and a little bit of nibblet corn. i did cook the potatoes with 1 can of veggie broth and 2 cups of water to give it the missing veggie flavor. i made this in a small square casserole dish and buttered the dish instead of sprayed it. i put a small portion of potatoes on the bottom of the dish, just enough for a thinish layer. sprinkled some corn on top of that. i browned my meat and added garlic salt, pepper, salt, and a sprinkling of basil. i added a large can of cream of mushroom soup and stirred them together. i put that in the dish, then put the remaining potatoes on top of that. i dotted it with butter and added another sprinkling of pepper. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sek_gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
wasn't bad, just boring. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This recipe tasted pretty good for all of us and I thank you for taking the time to post it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
My partner loved this. For dietary reasons next time I will change up a bit. First time around I used a whole small box of instant potatoes (felt like cheating) and that was way too much for me personally so here goes for my changes: I would up the meat to 1 1/2-2lbs which I browned with a little garlic and olive oil, salt and pepper and steak seasoning. Not really sure what the canned mushrooms added so next time will only add if I have some already in the pantry. I did a large can of Veg-All but next time I think I'll add just a can or two of corn and 2 cans green beans. I was served this once by an Englishman who layered it with meat, veggies, potatoes, and then cheese. Might try the cheese but not exactly a healthy addition! Lots of juice so it could stand to handle more veggies if using the recipe as stated. Very good and easy when using instant taters so something I will keep around for one of those nights where meal-in-a-bowl is welcomed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FASTFINAL137

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Very filling, very tasty. Kids loved it. The only thing I did differently was use more potatoes than called for, seasoning them as I would if I were to make mashed potatoes as a side dish. I also garlic powdered the meat/vegetable mixture to taste before topping it with the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shanna Sarr
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Went with just the cream of celery soup, as well as about 2 tbsp of minced garlic, in my ground beef and veggie mixture. Per another reviewer, I did a thin layer of mash on the bottom of the pan with cheddar cheese sprinkled on top of that. Then the layer of beef and veg, a sprinkle of garlic salt, and my thick layer of mash. About 1/4c of chopped green onions finish off the top of the pie. It was delicious! *I should also note that I prepare my mashed potatoes with a generous helping of milk, salt, and black pepper, and whip them with the hand mixer until fluffy and light*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Sarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
5.5 pts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Great!!! Followed some of the suggestions of other members, and added some seasoning salt, some garlic, and topped it with rows of tater tots instead since we had a big bag. Gave it to my boyfriend with a beer and he loved it. Very good stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhondamich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niles, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This dish was fabulous just as written. I may try some of the other suggestions mentioned. But it is perfect just as is! Thanks for this YUMMY, easy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keena Evans
Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States