Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I made this according to the recipe with a couple of minor exceptions - I used 1.25 lbs ground beef (only because my grocery store sells it packaged that way, impossible to get only one pound) and I added some chopped onion and a clove of garlic while I was browing the ground beef, in addition to some mixed steak seasoning I had in the pantry. Even with that, I thought it could use a little more seasoning, although it tasted good, was simply a little on the bland side. I left off the butter on top of the mashed potatoes and instead topped with some grated cheese based on several other reviews and thought that was a tasty addition. I would definitely make this again, possibly adding celery and green peppers with the onion and garlic during the browning, and maybe a little more seasoning like chili powder and paprika. It makes quite a bit and is very filling, so I would consider splitting between two pans (if you are cooking for a small family) and putting one in the freezer for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyBlack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Very good. I did use instant potatoes for convenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This was ok and very soupy. I read the reviews and added a packet of onion soup and some water to the beef. I also added some worchester sauce and ketchup to the beef,veggie and soup mixture. The cream of celery added a weird flavor but it was better baked. I added some milk and sour cream to my potatoes and it made them very mushy in this dish. I think next time I would only use one soup and probably golden mushroom or something with more of a beef flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
YUM! I altered just a bit. I made the mashed potatoes with a bit of cream cheese, milk and garlic. I put a small layer on the bottom of the pan before the meat went on. For veggies, I used a carton of fresh mushrooms, a can of carrots, a can of corn, and half a bag of frozen peas. I also sauteed an onion with the beef. After the meat and remaining potatoes were added to the dish, I sprinkled 1/2 pound of cheddar cheese on top. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Banbury

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Quick, easy, and tasted good. I added a layer of cheese before the mashed potatoes. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Monticello, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This was quick, easy and a hit with my family! I added a colby-jack cheese on top which only added to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Branden McWha
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Very simple meal to prepare. I made two versions, one with meat and the other with ground veggie beef. They both turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This is a great recipe that is fool proof! I dolled it up a bit but that is the fun with a basic recipe. First, I have never made mashed potatoes with reserved water. Use milk, sour cream, yogourt or any other dairy product to make a richer batch. Who can brown ground beef without adding an onion? I included a good sized white onion that gave depth to the taste. I did not have canned vegatables, but a package of frozen vegatables worked well. After I assembled the dish, a generous sprinkle of paprika was a good finishing touch. Here is a caution. I used a good sized baking dish and it still ran over. Put a drip catcher under the pie when baking and save work in the long run. Until next time - enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This is a great base recipe, here are my tweaks: Sauteed onions and garlic first, then added the beef and cooked it all together. After draining the beef and combining the soups, I used fresh frozen veggies. Mixed it all together and added enough Irish Killians beer to make it soupy. I let it simmer the alcohol out before doing the rest. Mashed Yukon gold potatoes with cream and butter for the topping. Even the kids liked it!! To die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I made this for St. Patrick's day, and it was a hit! Everyone went back for seconds. I did change it a little bit, because of what I had on hand. I used instant mashed potatoes, skipped the mushrooms, frozen mixed veggies, and then added a beef biuillon cube. Very easy, and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States