Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Branden McWha
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Very simple meal to prepare. I made two versions, one with meat and the other with ground veggie beef. They both turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This is a great recipe that is fool proof! I dolled it up a bit but that is the fun with a basic recipe. First, I have never made mashed potatoes with reserved water. Use milk, sour cream, yogourt or any other dairy product to make a richer batch. Who can brown ground beef without adding an onion? I included a good sized white onion that gave depth to the taste. I did not have canned vegatables, but a package of frozen vegatables worked well. After I assembled the dish, a generous sprinkle of paprika was a good finishing touch. Here is a caution. I used a good sized baking dish and it still ran over. Put a drip catcher under the pie when baking and save work in the long run. Until next time - enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This is a great base recipe, here are my tweaks: Sauteed onions and garlic first, then added the beef and cooked it all together. After draining the beef and combining the soups, I used fresh frozen veggies. Mixed it all together and added enough Irish Killians beer to make it soupy. I let it simmer the alcohol out before doing the rest. Mashed Yukon gold potatoes with cream and butter for the topping. Even the kids liked it!! To die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I made this for St. Patrick's day, and it was a hit! Everyone went back for seconds. I did change it a little bit, because of what I had on hand. I used instant mashed potatoes, skipped the mushrooms, frozen mixed veggies, and then added a beef biuillon cube. Very easy, and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
It was St Patrick's Day yesterday, so I invited friends and made the traditional Corned Beef and Cabbage dinner. However my daughter doesn't like Corned Beef so I decided to include a Shepherds Pie, and I tried this recipe. She loved it and so did everyone else! A great recipe to spice up to your own likes. In regards to the mashed potatoes, I followed my own recipe, I use evaporated milk and lots of butter, salt and pepper. To the ground beef, I added a large chopped onion, some garlic, salt, pepper, celery salt and red pepper flakes. For the one can of mixed vegetables, I instead used two cans of green beans. Once all put together, I baked until the potatoes began turning a nice golden brown, I removed from the oven and covered the top with grated cheddar cheese and popped back into the oven until the cheese was melted. This I will make a again splitting it in half, one for dinner and one for the freezer. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shingle Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
My husband and 2 year old absolutely loved this! I followed every step and made no changes. I will add this to my "regular's"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
As a lot of folks are doing, I added onion and garlic and sprinkled cheddar cheese on top (primarily for the kiddo). Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by limemonkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collierville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This was really tasty! I changed the recipe up a little. I used 3 potatoes, used half the meat and instead added some sauteed onions, broccoli, and celery to the meat mixture, and baked it in a 9x9 square pan, and it turned out well. It only cost us about $10 to make and it fed us both with more than enough leftover for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This Recipe is a great base to build you own flavors on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by threemore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This turned out great. I totally agree with the reviewer who suggested setting aside leftovers ahead of time, to avoid the very likely problem of having an empty pan. I made a few adjustments. First, I used seitan crumbles instead of beef (to make it vegetarian). Next, I followed some reviewers' suggestions to use a packet of onion soup mix (mixed with 1/2 cup water)--because of this, I only used one can of cream of mushroom soup. Instead of using canned veggies, I used fresh onions, celery, green beans and carrots. I didn't have mushrooms, so left them out. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States