Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Had to substitute for what I had in the house, and I knew I would. With six inches of fresh snow I was looking for some thing that wouldn't make me go to the store for one or two ingredients.You cn't call yourself a cook if you don't put your own touch to it! Now if we just had a recipe for Coca Cola! This will become a standby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Mmmm, we liked this! I used frozen mixed veggies and fresh mushrooms and omitted the butter on top, but followed the recipe other than that. It actually is pretty healthy if you use healthy selection soups, omit the butter and use 93% fat ground beef. As for spices, I sauteed some garlic and minced onion with the ground beef and added some more garlic and onion powder after I mixed the veggies together. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I don't know why people rate recipes either high or low when they have altered the recipe, added ingredients and even water... and complain that it's not right or soupy. I fixed this recipe pretty much as is except I had more hamburger so I added one more can of Cream of Mushroom soup and a few more potatoes for the top. My husband and I really enjoyed this meal. This is a great recipe, thanks STP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Bland, but maybe that's how it's supposed to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Yummy.. I added carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
The flavor of the ingredients was really very good. I adapted the recipe to my slow cooker, which didn't work out too well. It ended up being more of a soup/stew! But it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Pretty good, but needed more seasoning. We also used the light versions of the two soups, and it was yummy. Also we seasoned the potatoes with lots of garlic. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rdsxlolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
took a lot longer than estimated and was very bland, don't think we'll be making this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Aloha, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Easy and all the beef eaters were happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This is a good base recipe, but like so many others I made a few changes to suit our tastes. I seasoned the ground beef as it was cooking with rosemary & thyme. I also used fresh baby carrots, a small onion, chopped celery and some mushrooms rather than canned veg (yuck). I mashed the potatoes with a little butter and milk and left out the butter on top. I baked for 25 min. then added shredded cheddar and baked until bubbly (about 5 min.). This was really good with my changes. My hubby and my daughter both liked it so we will have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States