Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Yummy.. I added carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
The flavor of the ingredients was really very good. I adapted the recipe to my slow cooker, which didn't work out too well. It ended up being more of a soup/stew! But it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Pretty good, but needed more seasoning. We also used the light versions of the two soups, and it was yummy. Also we seasoned the potatoes with lots of garlic. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rdsxlolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
took a lot longer than estimated and was very bland, don't think we'll be making this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Aloha, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Easy and all the beef eaters were happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This is a good base recipe, but like so many others I made a few changes to suit our tastes. I seasoned the ground beef as it was cooking with rosemary & thyme. I also used fresh baby carrots, a small onion, chopped celery and some mushrooms rather than canned veg (yuck). I mashed the potatoes with a little butter and milk and left out the butter on top. I baked for 25 min. then added shredded cheddar and baked until bubbly (about 5 min.). This was really good with my changes. My hubby and my daughter both liked it so we will have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I followed the recipe to a "T" and was less than impressed. Although it was hearty and filling, I thought was lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I used fresh veggies, carrots, celery, onions, and frozen peas. I sauteed the carrots and celery, added onion and garlic. I used 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup. I did end up truning on the broiler to crisp up the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I made this according to the recipe with a couple of minor exceptions - I used 1.25 lbs ground beef (only because my grocery store sells it packaged that way, impossible to get only one pound) and I added some chopped onion and a clove of garlic while I was browing the ground beef, in addition to some mixed steak seasoning I had in the pantry. Even with that, I thought it could use a little more seasoning, although it tasted good, was simply a little on the bland side. I left off the butter on top of the mashed potatoes and instead topped with some grated cheese based on several other reviews and thought that was a tasty addition. I would definitely make this again, possibly adding celery and green peppers with the onion and garlic during the browning, and maybe a little more seasoning like chili powder and paprika. It makes quite a bit and is very filling, so I would consider splitting between two pans (if you are cooking for a small family) and putting one in the freezer for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyBlack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Very good. I did use instant potatoes for convenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States