Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
The recipe is good as is. I've all ways heard of Shepherd's Pie and wanted to make one. I'll never make again. Not a very tasty meal. Edible yes, tasty...not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious! I probably would have added some onions to the ground beef while browning if I was just making this for myself, but my kids and hubby don't like onions so I left them out. Everyone raved about it and there was just a serving left over, which my daughter and I split later in the evening! Very delicious and easy. Great way to get veggies in the kids diets. I'll definitely be making this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I thought that this is a good and easy recipe. I did make a few changes though. I sauteed coarsely chopped onion and minced fresh garlic clove, and then added the extra lean ground beef. There was no need to drain. I also steamed fresh carrots and then chopped them, added one can of peas, the mushrooms and the soups. I also added mild cheddar on top of the potatoes the last 15 minutes of baking. I will definitely make this again, but I am going to substitute a can of onion soup for the celery because the celery taste was a little too strong for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I made this tonight for dinner, and it passed with flying colors!! Everyone complimented it, and I just barely have enough left to eat for lunch tomorrow. I should've made the honey cornbread to go with it!! Great recipe. I added a little shredded cheddar on the top about 15 minutes before it was done...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
If you have to add so many things the recipe doesn't call for to make it taste good, is it really a very good recipe to begin with? I would never have made it exactly as the recipe calls for. Requires some sauteed garlic and onion at the very least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
It was good and very easy. I ended up having to half it because there was only 2 of us eating. I shopped up garlic and sauteed it with the beef which gave it a great flavor. My husband is very picky and did not like it so much, but overall I thought it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeggyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazel Green, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fort Carson, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I never leave reviews, but for this I had to because I'm a terrible cook and this recipe turned out great! I used instant potatoes instead of making my own (the 6-7 cup recipe was not quite enough) but otherwise followed this recipe to the letter. My husband, bless his heart, is a great sport about my futile attempts to cook but does not give false compliments so when he said it was awesome, and then had a second big servings, I knew we had a winner. Thanks for the great "so easy even I can do it right" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stolle3314
Home Town: Manila, Utah, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I'd never had Shepherd's Pie before but gave this one a try. Easy and the family ate it up. I followed some suggestions and added half a chopped onion while browning the ground beef and put a tsp of Worchestire in as well.. then topped with cheddar cheese for the last 10 minutes. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftyPancakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Simple, comforting & absolutely scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LexiRob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enid, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was delicious!! I only had a little leftover, which I reheated for dinner. I added butter and milk to the mashed potatoes instead of using the water that I had boiled them in and instead of using a can of mixed veggies I used a small can of corn, a can of mushrooms, and a can of carrots. I also put sharp cheddar cheese on top for the last 15 minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States