Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Really good flavor but I found mine turned out a little soupy and did not set up as well as I had liked. I will try to thicken the sauce next time and add heartier veggies to make a better pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SauceChickinLakeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Lakeway, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Very good with the following recommendations by another reviewer. Instead of the soups used 1 jar of Heinz chicken gravy. Cooked beef with 2 cloves of garlic & added cheese to the top of the casserole dish before putting it in the oven. yum, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I made this with leftover turkey and used cream of chicken instead of cream of celery soup. It was yummy, but I should've added a little more salt or some kind of seasoning. It was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Great recipe, I did cheat a bit and used powder potatoes as a substitue and it still turned out great. I think next time I'll just stick with the mushrooms and mushroom soup, didn't quite love the celery soup taste. Will definitely be making this again, great for leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Made this tonight for the first time. I did make a few adjustments based on some of the reviews I read (substituted beef gravy for the soups). I also sauteed an onion prior to browning the meet. It was DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrmike413
Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Didn't have cream of celery so used cream of chicken. I did have to add a good bit of salt and pepper, and cooked my "meat" (vegetarian) in some onions and garlic for more flavor. Used frozen veggies too. With a little added spice this was a 5-star, but as is it was a bit too bland so I went with 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Simple recipe with great flavor. I have been making this recipe for several years now and my husband and son ask for it on a regular basis. Sometimes I just use leftover veggies from the frige rather than the can of mixed veggies. Still turns out great. I also like to put cheddar cheese on top but by judging from the pic's that are posted, so do alot of people. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
My family and I LOVED this recipe. I did drain the can of vegetables and added a beef bouillon and a pack of Lipton Onion Soup mix as another review suggested. Also used 8 potatoes. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Had to substitute for what I had in the house, and I knew I would. With six inches of fresh snow I was looking for some thing that wouldn't make me go to the store for one or two ingredients.You cn't call yourself a cook if you don't put your own touch to it! Now if we just had a recipe for Coca Cola! This will become a standby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Reid

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Mmmm, we liked this! I used frozen mixed veggies and fresh mushrooms and omitted the butter on top, but followed the recipe other than that. It actually is pretty healthy if you use healthy selection soups, omit the butter and use 93% fat ground beef. As for spices, I sauteed some garlic and minced onion with the ground beef and added some more garlic and onion powder after I mixed the veggies together. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States