Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Easy and all the beef eaters were happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This is a good base recipe, but like so many others I made a few changes to suit our tastes. I seasoned the ground beef as it was cooking with rosemary & thyme. I also used fresh baby carrots, a small onion, chopped celery and some mushrooms rather than canned veg (yuck). I mashed the potatoes with a little butter and milk and left out the butter on top. I baked for 25 min. then added shredded cheddar and baked until bubbly (about 5 min.). This was really good with my changes. My hubby and my daughter both liked it so we will have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I followed the recipe to a "T" and was less than impressed. Although it was hearty and filling, I thought was lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I used fresh veggies, carrots, celery, onions, and frozen peas. I sauteed the carrots and celery, added onion and garlic. I used 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup. I did end up truning on the broiler to crisp up the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I made this according to the recipe with a couple of minor exceptions - I used 1.25 lbs ground beef (only because my grocery store sells it packaged that way, impossible to get only one pound) and I added some chopped onion and a clove of garlic while I was browing the ground beef, in addition to some mixed steak seasoning I had in the pantry. Even with that, I thought it could use a little more seasoning, although it tasted good, was simply a little on the bland side. I left off the butter on top of the mashed potatoes and instead topped with some grated cheese based on several other reviews and thought that was a tasty addition. I would definitely make this again, possibly adding celery and green peppers with the onion and garlic during the browning, and maybe a little more seasoning like chili powder and paprika. It makes quite a bit and is very filling, so I would consider splitting between two pans (if you are cooking for a small family) and putting one in the freezer for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyBlack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Very good. I did use instant potatoes for convenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This was ok and very soupy. I read the reviews and added a packet of onion soup and some water to the beef. I also added some worchester sauce and ketchup to the beef,veggie and soup mixture. The cream of celery added a weird flavor but it was better baked. I added some milk and sour cream to my potatoes and it made them very mushy in this dish. I think next time I would only use one soup and probably golden mushroom or something with more of a beef flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
YUM! I altered just a bit. I made the mashed potatoes with a bit of cream cheese, milk and garlic. I put a small layer on the bottom of the pan before the meat went on. For veggies, I used a carton of fresh mushrooms, a can of carrots, a can of corn, and half a bag of frozen peas. I also sauteed an onion with the beef. After the meat and remaining potatoes were added to the dish, I sprinkled 1/2 pound of cheddar cheese on top. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Quick, easy, and tasted good. I added a layer of cheese before the mashed potatoes. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Monticello, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This was quick, easy and a hit with my family! I added a colby-jack cheese on top which only added to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States