Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
SOOOOOOOOO GOOD!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adriegurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
You really can't go wrong with this recipe. It's sooo easy and my whole family loves it. I've made it a bunch of times. The first time as written (but butter and milk in potatoes, not the liquid) and it was really tasty. The next time I add worchestire sauce, onions and garlic to the meat while browning, and it was even better. I think any way you make this dish, it will turn out great!! Thanks STP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Depew, New York, USA
Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Chapman
Home Town: Darwen, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I'm giving this 5 stars because my husband loved it. He had to stop himself from having 3rds! I would have given it 4 stars because I did tweak it slightly since it seemed to lack a bit of flavor. I'd also make a few changes next time based on other reviews. I added 1 box organic condensed mushroom soup but couldn't find the same in the celery soup so I added about a quarter of a can of cream of celery soup. Next time, I'd skip that altogether. I had to add some beef bouillon because the flavor just wasn't really there. This helped ALOT. Next time, I'll add some garlic to sauté with the ground beef, I'll probably add a dash of Worcestershire to taste, less cream of mushroom...and definitely a few more potatoes. 5 wasn't enough and it wouldn't cover the entire thing. There were so many gaps. I added a little milk and butter to the mashed potatoes which I'd do again...and also melt cheese on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Really good flavor but I found mine turned out a little soupy and did not set up as well as I had liked. I will try to thicken the sauce next time and add heartier veggies to make a better pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SauceChickinLakeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Lakeway, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Very good with the following recommendations by another reviewer. Instead of the soups used 1 jar of Heinz chicken gravy. Cooked beef with 2 cloves of garlic & added cheese to the top of the casserole dish before putting it in the oven. yum, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I made this with leftover turkey and used cream of chicken instead of cream of celery soup. It was yummy, but I should've added a little more salt or some kind of seasoning. It was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Great recipe, I did cheat a bit and used powder potatoes as a substitue and it still turned out great. I think next time I'll just stick with the mushrooms and mushroom soup, didn't quite love the celery soup taste. Will definitely be making this again, great for leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Made this tonight for the first time. I did make a few adjustments based on some of the reviews I read (substituted beef gravy for the soups). I also sauteed an onion prior to browning the meet. It was DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrmike413
Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Didn't have cream of celery so used cream of chicken. I did have to add a good bit of salt and pepper, and cooked my "meat" (vegetarian) in some onions and garlic for more flavor. Used frozen veggies too. With a little added spice this was a 5-star, but as is it was a bit too bland so I went with 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany

Displaying results 21-30 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States