Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Very nice recipe for Sheperd's Pie. Pretty much went by the recipe except my mashed potatoes were dirty with sauteed onions and garlic. Love those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
By far the best recipe for shepherd's pie that I have found... I followed some of the other reviewers' advice and crushed up some garlic and add worchestershire sauce while the beef was browning. I also added cheddar cheese to the top halfway through the baking. A recipe worth keeping! Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KariMercer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Manama, Capital, Bahrain
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
i like this because it has all the food group in it and it is good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Ingraham

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This was delicious! I did tweak it a little. I used ground turkey that I browned in a frying pan with garlic powder, onion powder, salt, pepper, and worschire sauce. Also, I cooked double the potatoes so I could line the bottom and cover the top with them. I added garlic, butter, cheddar cheese and a little milk to the potatoes. I put in a 1/2 a bag of frozen peas and a 1/2 a bag of mixed veggies. I did not add the celery soup. Instead I added 1 can of cream of mushroom and some milk and flour. I guess I changed a lot, but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This is an easy, yummy recipe! I used the frozen veggies (peas, carrots, green beans) and added onion. I also only used one can soup (cream of mushroom) and used 1/2 can of Murphy's Stout beer instead of the other can of soup. It was YUMMY! I also omitted the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Very good, used real potatoes and will add a bit more pepper (? cajun) next time for kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Danielson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
We don't like mushrooms, so I made this recipe with a can of cream of celery (I only had 1) soup and a packet of country gravy. I browned the beef with chopped onion and garlic. I thought it was a good change from the classic tomato-based shepard's pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I loved this recipe after a little tweaking. I followed the advice of another reviewer and omited the cream of celery soup and replaced it with a packet of french onion soup mix and 1 beef boullion cube. After browning the beef, onions and garlic(another add), I added 1 tbsp of flour and pepper. I cooked that for a few minutes and then added a cup of water. I let that simmer for 5 minutes and then added the cream of mushroom soup, ketchup (2 tbsp), 2 cans of veggies, and parsley. It was great!!! Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Spring Lake, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
The recipe is great - giving 4 stars not for taste but for accuracy - the beef makes it Cottage Pie not Shepherd's. Great nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
it was good, but honestly isn't anything topped with mashed potatoes and cheese good? Added mixed veg. from freezer section and instead of cream of mushroom i added a jar of mushroom gravy. Added onions to the meat when I cooked it. Needs salt. Good left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States