Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I loved this recipe after a little tweaking. I followed the advice of another reviewer and omited the cream of celery soup and replaced it with a packet of french onion soup mix and 1 beef boullion cube. After browning the beef, onions and garlic(another add), I added 1 tbsp of flour and pepper. I cooked that for a few minutes and then added a cup of water. I let that simmer for 5 minutes and then added the cream of mushroom soup, ketchup (2 tbsp), 2 cans of veggies, and parsley. It was great!!! Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Spring Lake, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
The recipe is great - giving 4 stars not for taste but for accuracy - the beef makes it Cottage Pie not Shepherd's. Great nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
it was good, but honestly isn't anything topped with mashed potatoes and cheese good? Added mixed veg. from freezer section and instead of cream of mushroom i added a jar of mushroom gravy. Added onions to the meat when I cooked it. Needs salt. Good left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Just made this tonight to use up some potatoes I had. Didn't have Cream of Mushroom soup or mushrooms so I used Cream of Chicken instead. Also, used a bag of frozen mixed veggies and ground turkey. Despite these changes I was hoping it would be delicious but it just wasn't. As others have said, too bland. I had to add a ton of salt with almost every bite to make it taste like anything. Will try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I made the suggested alterations to this recipe and found that it wasnt very successful no matter what you added to it. I would never make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
For something so simple and easy, this was great! I'm a vegetarian, so I substituted frozen ground meatless. I also used deli mashed potatoes to speed it up and it came out fabulous! I had to stop my husband from getting thirds! And there's still enough left over to freeze for another night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Good recipe. I always shied away from Shepherds pie because it sounded bland. I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy4876

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Memphis, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I enjoyed this. I added worstechire to the beef and soup. I used two cans of mushroom soup instead of the celery. I also added garlic powder (didn't have fresh), onion flakes and cheese and french fried onions on top of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
made this without the veggies and still scored a 5 star according to my kids and I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Ern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This was yummy. I too changed the recipes a little...I used a french onion soup packet and one beef bouillon cube with 1 cup water and let the beef simmer to add flavor. I then added one can of corn - drained the liquid off. I also admitted the cream of celery soup and added a few splashes of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States