Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I've always used cream of mushroom in my shepherd's pie. I didn't follow all steps though. I used 1lb ground turkey, 2 pouches of garlic & herb mashed potato mix and a little bit of nibblet corn. i did cook the potatoes with 1 can of veggie broth and 2 cups of water to give it the missing veggie flavor. i made this in a small square casserole dish and buttered the dish instead of sprayed it. i put a small portion of potatoes on the bottom of the dish, just enough for a thinish layer. sprinkled some corn on top of that. i browned my meat and added garlic salt, pepper, salt, and a sprinkling of basil. i added a large can of cream of mushroom soup and stirred them together. i put that in the dish, then put the remaining potatoes on top of that. i dotted it with butter and added another sprinkling of pepper. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sek_gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
wasn't bad, just boring. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This recipe tasted pretty good for all of us and I thank you for taking the time to post it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
My partner loved this. For dietary reasons next time I will change up a bit. First time around I used a whole small box of instant potatoes (felt like cheating) and that was way too much for me personally so here goes for my changes: I would up the meat to 1 1/2-2lbs which I browned with a little garlic and olive oil, salt and pepper and steak seasoning. Not really sure what the canned mushrooms added so next time will only add if I have some already in the pantry. I did a large can of Veg-All but next time I think I'll add just a can or two of corn and 2 cans green beans. I was served this once by an Englishman who layered it with meat, veggies, potatoes, and then cheese. Might try the cheese but not exactly a healthy addition! Lots of juice so it could stand to handle more veggies if using the recipe as stated. Very good and easy when using instant taters so something I will keep around for one of those nights where meal-in-a-bowl is welcomed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FASTFINAL137

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Very filling, very tasty. Kids loved it. The only thing I did differently was use more potatoes than called for, seasoning them as I would if I were to make mashed potatoes as a side dish. I also garlic powdered the meat/vegetable mixture to taste before topping it with the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shanna Sarr
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Went with just the cream of celery soup, as well as about 2 tbsp of minced garlic, in my ground beef and veggie mixture. Per another reviewer, I did a thin layer of mash on the bottom of the pan with cheddar cheese sprinkled on top of that. Then the layer of beef and veg, a sprinkle of garlic salt, and my thick layer of mash. About 1/4c of chopped green onions finish off the top of the pie. It was delicious! *I should also note that I prepare my mashed potatoes with a generous helping of milk, salt, and black pepper, and whip them with the hand mixer until fluffy and light*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Sarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
5.5 pts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Great!!! Followed some of the suggestions of other members, and added some seasoning salt, some garlic, and topped it with rows of tater tots instead since we had a big bag. Gave it to my boyfriend with a beer and he loved it. Very good stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhondamich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niles, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This dish was fabulous just as written. I may try some of the other suggestions mentioned. But it is perfect just as is! Thanks for this YUMMY, easy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keena Evans
Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I followed the recipe but added some shredded cheese and frenchs fried onions. I think this would have tasted better with sauted vegetables instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States