Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I made this for my family and my lilttle girl just couldnt get enough of it. I normally make a traditional Shepherd's pie with lamb, but this was a good way to use the old standby of ground beef. I didnt have any mushrooms on hand, so to bump up the fiber, I included a can of blackeye peas. Sounds crazy, but it went very well with the beef and veggies. I will definately be making this dish again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenys "B"

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I've used this recipe a few times, and it's always been a hit. Super easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I made it just as it is in the recipe and loved it my husband also loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Very good! Was a big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drkaito

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was very good. I'm not sure what a "real" Shepherd's Pie is supposed to taste like, but I made a different recipe from this site last week, which was fairly good, and this is even better. What made it better that the other was the addition of a good amount of vegetables, and the base was pretty creamy with the two cans of soup. I made this pretty much exactly as written. I used Russet Burbank potatoes, which were barely medium-sized, and cooked them for 15 minutes. (I did think the mashed-potato topping was a little skimpy in my case, so I'd recommend larger potatoes.) The mushrooms I used were "pieces and stems" instead of "sliced", but it tasted the same to me anyway. I baked the whole thing for 30 minutes, at which point it was bubbly but not golden at all - but I was pretty hungry by then. This was also a good recipe in which to use ground white pepper instead of black, and best of all I got to try out my brand-new masher. (I usually read all prior reviews before posting my own, but there are 238 of them now, so I'll skip that step.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
The recipe is good as is. I've all ways heard of Shepherd's Pie and wanted to make one. I'll never make again. Not a very tasty meal. Edible yes, tasty...not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious! I probably would have added some onions to the ground beef while browning if I was just making this for myself, but my kids and hubby don't like onions so I left them out. Everyone raved about it and there was just a serving left over, which my daughter and I split later in the evening! Very delicious and easy. Great way to get veggies in the kids diets. I'll definitely be making this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I thought that this is a good and easy recipe. I did make a few changes though. I sauteed coarsely chopped onion and minced fresh garlic clove, and then added the extra lean ground beef. There was no need to drain. I also steamed fresh carrots and then chopped them, added one can of peas, the mushrooms and the soups. I also added mild cheddar on top of the potatoes the last 15 minutes of baking. I will definitely make this again, but I am going to substitute a can of onion soup for the celery because the celery taste was a little too strong for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I made this tonight for dinner, and it passed with flying colors!! Everyone complimented it, and I just barely have enough left to eat for lunch tomorrow. I should've made the honey cornbread to go with it!! Great recipe. I added a little shredded cheddar on the top about 15 minutes before it was done...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
If you have to add so many things the recipe doesn't call for to make it taste good, is it really a very good recipe to begin with? I would never have made it exactly as the recipe calls for. Requires some sauteed garlic and onion at the very least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States