Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This recipe is delicious! I made a few modifications using the ideas from some of the other reviews posted to this recipe. I used Bob Evan's sour cream and chive instant mashed potatoes for the bottom of the pan and the top of the filling (it took 3 containers). I used the idea of spreading shredded cheddar cheese on the bottom layer of potatoes and finished it with the crunchy fried onions from MLTS. I sauteed onion and mushrooms together until they cooked down and then added the beef. Instead of draining the beef juice, added McCain's onion and beef gravy mix to the juices while cooking the beef with the onions & mushrooms. I then added a 15 oz can of whole kernel (from BMCAR) corn and 15 oz of frozen vegetables. I then took the idea from Duckball and used 8 oz of sour cream instead of cream of celery soup. Other than these changes, I stuck to the recipe. It was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I thought this was a little bland, but my bf loved it. I added some butter and a little milk. I also added an onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Lee Testar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Lots of pre-packaged ingredients..... my kids like it but they are 2 and 8. I thought it was OK. I added pepper to the veggie meat mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I followed the recipe as written but it turned out too runny and not much flavor. I did drain the canned vegetables. Without changing the recipe, I have to rate it low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This turned out pretty good, I only had mushroom soup so I used 2 cans of that. Otherwise I followed the recipe as written. It was good, a change from my usual beef broth shepherds pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrenalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Best Shepherd's Pie ever. We substituted the canned veggies with a pack of bird's eye frozen, and then added extra frozen corn. We also added a pack of onion soup mix. We'll definitely b making this again!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I have used this as a basic recipe more times than I care to mention. It's fantastic! But I am an experimental cook. I love trying new flavors and new concepts. So here's my recommendation: start with the basic recipe first. Really. Try it just the way it is written. Then make modifications as you wish. I have added Worcestershire sauce to the meat and it was great. I have swapped out the soups for premixed gravy and that was awesome. I have put cheese on top and crust on the bottom to make it pot pie-ish. This last time I used a can of tomato paste with gravy mix. It always comes out delicious. But the recipe, as written, will not fail you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
VERY GOOD! Everyone loved this hearty meal! I didn't have mushrooms so I used an onion, used a can of peas and carrots instead of mixed veggies, and instant Butter & Herb mashed potatoes to save me some time. I will certainly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lunastar1311

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Used a whole package of fresh mushrooms and green onions ~ delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by buzzbobby
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This is a new St Patty's day tradition ! It was great , added mushrooms and onions wile browning the meat and sprinkled cheddar cheese before adding potatoes ! Perfecto
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States