Shepherd's Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This is the perfect dinner for the fall. This casserole is warm and comforting. I tweaked it a little by using Johnsonville sausage, which made this one tasty pie! I think it had a bit of a bangers-and-mash feel to it with the sausage. I love pub food, so this couldn't have been better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Made this the way the receipe said used a tin of Beef Broth soup,thoroughly enjoyed it as did my husband actually redeemed myself from the terrible dinner I made last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Dear Hubby requested a Shepherd’s Pie but I’ve never made one! I used half ground beef and half Johnsonville Hot Italian Sausage. I added a dollop of sour cream to the mashed potatoes and a little beef bouillon to the broth. Also added a little garlic when the onions were cooking and added some peas too. We both loved our dinner and cannot wait to enjoy this again! #AllstarsJville, #JvilleKitchens, #Fall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
definitely use the gravy instead of beef broth, but other than that it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I made this yesterday and it was delicious. I got alot of compliments ...I skipped cutting up the carrots and just used a can of peas and carrots to substitute it came out GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cwilcox6539

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
So yummy!! I added a small layer of mushrooms that I boiled after the carrots. I also added a small bit of garlic salt with parsley as I was mashing the potatoes. We couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Everyone the family loved this. As recommended by others I added Worcestershire sauce, brown gravy mix, skipped the flour, used the potato water to make the meat more saucy. Also added corn and peas to the carrots called for by the recipe. Was a big hit with the family. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
We went with using frozen peas and carrots, per some reviews, and cooked them in a steamer basket over the potatos; next time I would just add them to the beef mixture to cook. Used minced green onions in mashed potatos. Added 2 cloves of crushed garlic, a few dashes of rosemary, marojam, thyme and worcestershire sauce in the beef. Cooked the beef in a cast iron dutch oven, then did our layers in that and popped it in the oven. I think we'll be doing this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I feel a little strange rating this recipe, since I made changes. However, I would never have gotten to this point without the recipe. Rather than explain my changes, I'll tell you what I like about this recipe. I really love the carrots. I love the beef broth / ketchup mixture. These were great ideas for me. It was a hit with the hubby! He had 3 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,745) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States