Shepherd's Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I feel a little strange rating this recipe, since I made changes. However, I would never have gotten to this point without the recipe. Rather than explain my changes, I'll tell you what I like about this recipe. I really love the carrots. I love the beef broth / ketchup mixture. These were great ideas for me. It was a hit with the hubby! He had 3 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Delicious and so simple! My Husband absolutely loved this and took the rest for lunch the following day...and he hates leftovers! I suggest making the changes I have to amp up the flavor a little bit! First off, I seasoned my ground beef while it browned with the onions. I used a little sprinkling of garlic powder and a local spice blend. For the potatoes I mixed in 1/4 cup parmesan and a 1/4 cup mozzarella to give it a complex cheese flavor. I also increased the beef stock to a scant 1 cup and reduced the flour to 1 Tbsp., instead allowing the beef and sauce to reduce and the flavors to mingle. I also increased the ketchup to 2 Tbsp. for a little more tang. My Husband isn't a big fan of mashed carrots, so I used some organic frozen mixed veggies (peas, carrots, corn, and green beans) as the middle layer. I then topped the potato layer with not 1/4 C of cheddar cheese, but 3/4 cup of cheddar cheese. Excellent recipe and a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheHomemade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Photo by Angie Bunn
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This recipe turned out awesome! I am a vegetarian, so obviously I made some changes. Instead of the ground beef, I used the original Yves veggie ground round. I heated up half a tablespoon or so of olive oil in a pan and put the veggie ground round in, and broke it up and heated it for a few minutes. I then spread that out over the bottom of a 2 & 1/2 liter casserole dish. Next, I layered one batch of homemade mushroom gravy. I got the recipe from the ohsheglows vegan food blog, if you google ohsheglows mushroom gravy you'll find the recipe. Then the mashed carrots, then I added frozen corn. I didn't measure how much, just enough to cover the carrots. Then the mashed potatoes, then the cheese! I ended up doubling the amount of cheese I put on top, about half a cup total. Maybe a bit more. My boyfriend and I love cheese so next time we will double the amount in the mashed potatoes as well. In the oven it went for about 17 minutes, then I switched it to the broiler on low for a few more minutes to melt the cheese more. Honestly I could not tell it wasn't real meat! My boyfriend is not a vegetarian and he says he likes it better than regular meat, it's less greasy. Great recipe. Obviously I omitted the meat, ketchup, and other ingredients added to the meat to make the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Bunn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This is the best shepherds pie I have ever had! The family loved it and agreed that I should make this often :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaMarieIsMe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
best shepherd's pie recipe I've found. I followed the recommendation of another reviewer and added the much needed Worcestershire sauce to the meat. Although I didn't have beef broth, I had veggie broth and added a splash of braggs amino acids (like soy sauce) to liven it up. Yummm! Saved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Richards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
i followed the suggestions of the most helpful member and added the pkg brown gravy mix and frozen peas and carrots. Excellent. Will make again but I am going to make several meals and freeze them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I really love the ease of making this recipe. I did substitute the carrots for peas and corn only because I grated the carrots on accident and could not cook them. It still turned out great. It was such a hit that I was asked to cook it again for a work function. Thank you so much for the great recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I made some changes to the recipe, I use mixed veggies instead of just carrots. Family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I made this for my partner's birthday since it's his favorite. He really liked it, but it tasted pretty simple to me. I did accidentally forget to add the ketchup (which I was going to use tomato paste anyway), but the only other changes I made were that I didn't put mashed carrot on, and I put sweet potato on one half of the pie and regular potato on the other. I think next time I might take some of other reviewers suggestions, like adding Worcestershire sauce to the meat, and maybe some mustard. As it is, it's still very good, and if you're a sweet potato fan, I highly recommend putting a mashed sweet potato topping on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Took a long time to make, and used a lot of pot and pans, as someone without a dishwasher I don't appreciate it. There was no flavor due to lack of seasoning don't make this unless you want to add a lot of seasonings not mentioned in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,736) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States