Shepherd's Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Just ok...kinda runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I cooked tonight for the first time for a 87 year old I love and respect so much. I was so nervous. He loved it! He had seconds and I think he would have licked his plate if no one was watching. Lol! I did add 1 cup sour cream to potatoes and Worcestershire to the meat not sure how much just poured some in. I also didnt use broth but brown gravy mix and 1 cup of water for the mix. I cheated and used two cans of carrot pea mix instead of the carrots. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Add some worcestshire to meat sauce...1 tblsp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Terrific flavor and was a huge hit!! I read some of the other reviews and took pieces of suggestions here and there. The only negative to this recipe is the prep time. Prep time is definitely way over 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I made this for dinner tonight. Everyone liked it, adults and the kids. I used baby carrots which I cut in half along with the onion and cooked them with the hamburger. I also added frozen peas right before putting it in the casserole dish. I used the ketchup and beef broth as the recipe stated and not gravy and I am glad that I did. It turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
The kids loved this recipe and wanted to give it 12 stars. I followed other reviewer's advice and added some Worcestershire to the ground beef while it was cooking. For vegetables, I used a bag of frozen mixed vegetables and mixed them in with the meat after it was cooked. I also used 1 cup water and 1 envelope brown gravy mix. I used Bob Evans refrigerator mashed potatoes for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
It was good overall, but having never had Shepherd's Pie before, I was not expecting it to remind me of meatloaf.My husband loved it, though. He'd give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Made this last night for a bunch of college kids we have over every week. I followed the recipe exactly, except added some Worcester sauce as some others did. Now, I like pretty bland food. I'm not big on tons of spices. I like the simple taste of the foods you are cooking. But this recipe was even way too bland for me. It needed something to liven it up. I added more salt and pepper before putting it together thinking that would be the ticket. But it wasn't. It was just boring. Maybe some marjoram? It is a good base recipe, but it does need something more. Just not sure I'm going to be making it again to find out what it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Delicious and so easy! Short on time so I used instant mashed potatoes doctored up with some butter and a 1/4 tsp. of horseradish. Also, used beef base to make the broth, and made it a little stronger because I used 50/50 ground beef, ground turkey combo. Husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie Dolan
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I used this recipe as a guide not following it so much, but we all enjoyed it, and will make again. My husband would like me to try it with turkey next time. Four stars since I didn't really make the recipe. I used Yukon Golds for the mashed potatos; cooking water, 2% milk, and a good dollap of butter. Someone gave me a bunch of flavored sea salt, so I added a good amount of Hawaiian bamboo jade, and lots of fresh cracked white pepper. I cooked the carrots in the potato water and mashed lightly so they were still chunky. I slow cooked a large white onion so it was almost translucent then partilally carmelized. Added the beef and cooked; a couple pinches of flour, the beef broth (reconstituted crystals). I did use the ketchup (probably tomato paste next time), plus a bunch of shakes of Wosteshire, and a couple shakes of a Louisiana hot sauce. Both fresh cracked black and white pepper, and some garlic medley sea salt. I thin sliced, then lightly chopped, 3/4 of a small head of green cabbage, and added it to the beef, and cooked another few minutes. I layered half the beef mix, all the carrots, the rest of beef mix, and typed with the potatos. The eight year old enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,800) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States