Shepherd's Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I made this for the first time the other night! It was really good! However I felt like next time I make it I will use less potato and more meat! I used brown gravy mix as suggested by others. Definitely will be making this again, really soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toney.bre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Big hit - had on christmas eve and it was suitably celebratory yet easy enough to put together without spending too much holiday time in the kitchen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spratlas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idabel, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Very good. Used peas and carrots and red potatos. Flavored meat as I would meatloaf. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
First time making Shepherd's Pie and I nailed it thanks to this recipe! Followed directions exactly. Please don't review a recipe you have altered as it is not fair to the original poster! Can't wait to make this again! Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcakesandcheesecakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Awesome comfort dish, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timmi & Lizzi In The Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This shepard pie is really good,i change the topping by using a regular biscuit or a cornmeal biscuit topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This is an excellent shepherd's pie. My husband, who claims not to like shepherd's pie, couldn't get enough of it, and my two young ones ate it well too. I had a bunch of leftover veggies, so I threw them all into the veg/meat mixture: 1/2 onion (chopped), bunch of baby carrots (sliced), mushrooms (sliced), green onions (green and white parts, chopped fine). I also added approximately one cup frozen corn and let it cook with the other veggies. I then added 1 lb ground beef, 2 T ketchup, 2 T flour, 1/4 c worcestershire sauce, 1 packet of mushroom gravy mix, and 1.5 c water. Once everything was cooked and the sauce thickened, I poured into a greased pan, scooped the potatoes (I already had mashed potatoes leftover in the fridge), dotted with butter, sprinkled with shredded cheese (Mexican blend), and ta-da! amazing shepherd's pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This was so good!!! I used venison because that's what I had laying around, and added 3-4 cloves of garlic to the onions, and extra cheese on top. I also took some advice from another reviewer, which made this absolutely perfect: add 1/4 cup of Worcestershire to the meat, use a packet of gravy mix with 1 cup water instead of the beef broth, and add peas to the carrots (I left the carrots in small chunks instead of mashing). mmmmmmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Added mixed veges, Worcester and garlic. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
The potatoes were too dry...they needed some milk. This also needed some more seasoning. The potato to beef ratio was also off. There was A LOT of potatoes, with not enough beef. This was just OK. I will likely not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,774) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States