Shepherd's Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Angie Bunn
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This recipe turned out awesome! I am a vegetarian, so obviously I made some changes. Instead of the ground beef, I used the original Yves veggie ground round. I heated up half a tablespoon or so of olive oil in a pan and put the veggie ground round in, and broke it up and heated it for a few minutes. I then spread that out over the bottom of a 2 & 1/2 liter casserole dish. Next, I layered one batch of homemade mushroom gravy. I got the recipe from the ohsheglows vegan food blog, if you google ohsheglows mushroom gravy you'll find the recipe. Then the mashed carrots, then I added frozen corn. I didn't measure how much, just enough to cover the carrots. Then the mashed potatoes, then the cheese! I ended up doubling the amount of cheese I put on top, about half a cup total. Maybe a bit more. My boyfriend and I love cheese so next time we will double the amount in the mashed potatoes as well. In the oven it went for about 17 minutes, then I switched it to the broiler on low for a few more minutes to melt the cheese more. Honestly I could not tell it wasn't real meat! My boyfriend is not a vegetarian and he says he likes it better than regular meat, it's less greasy. Great recipe. Obviously I omitted the meat, ketchup, and other ingredients added to the meat to make the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Bunn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This is the best shepherds pie I have ever had! The family loved it and agreed that I should make this often :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaMarieIsMe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
best shepherd's pie recipe I've found. I followed the recommendation of another reviewer and added the much needed Worcestershire sauce to the meat. Although I didn't have beef broth, I had veggie broth and added a splash of braggs amino acids (like soy sauce) to liven it up. Yummm! Saved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Richards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
i followed the suggestions of the most helpful member and added the pkg brown gravy mix and frozen peas and carrots. Excellent. Will make again but I am going to make several meals and freeze them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I really love the ease of making this recipe. I did substitute the carrots for peas and corn only because I grated the carrots on accident and could not cook them. It still turned out great. It was such a hit that I was asked to cook it again for a work function. Thank you so much for the great recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I made some changes to the recipe, I use mixed veggies instead of just carrots. Family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I made this for my partner's birthday since it's his favorite. He really liked it, but it tasted pretty simple to me. I did accidentally forget to add the ketchup (which I was going to use tomato paste anyway), but the only other changes I made were that I didn't put mashed carrot on, and I put sweet potato on one half of the pie and regular potato on the other. I think next time I might take some of other reviewers suggestions, like adding Worcestershire sauce to the meat, and maybe some mustard. As it is, it's still very good, and if you're a sweet potato fan, I highly recommend putting a mashed sweet potato topping on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Took a long time to make, and used a lot of pot and pans, as someone without a dishwasher I don't appreciate it. There was no flavor due to lack of seasoning don't make this unless you want to add a lot of seasonings not mentioned in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This is a great starter Shepherd's Pie recipe. Of course tweak the veggies the way you like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Scott, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This was good and wicked easy. Even my finicky son ate it without the mashed potatoes. My husband loved it. They both asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,734) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States