Shepherd's Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Everyone the family loved this. As recommended by others I added Worcestershire sauce, brown gravy mix, skipped the flour, used the potato water to make the meat more saucy. Also added corn and peas to the carrots called for by the recipe. Was a big hit with the family. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
We went with using frozen peas and carrots, per some reviews, and cooked them in a steamer basket over the potatos; next time I would just add them to the beef mixture to cook. Used minced green onions in mashed potatos. Added 2 cloves of crushed garlic, a few dashes of rosemary, marojam, thyme and worcestershire sauce in the beef. Cooked the beef in a cast iron dutch oven, then did our layers in that and popped it in the oven. I think we'll be doing this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I feel a little strange rating this recipe, since I made changes. However, I would never have gotten to this point without the recipe. Rather than explain my changes, I'll tell you what I like about this recipe. I really love the carrots. I love the beef broth / ketchup mixture. These were great ideas for me. It was a hit with the hubby! He had 3 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Delicious and so simple! My Husband absolutely loved this and took the rest for lunch the following day...and he hates leftovers! I suggest making the changes I have to amp up the flavor a little bit! First off, I seasoned my ground beef while it browned with the onions. I used a little sprinkling of garlic powder and a local spice blend. For the potatoes I mixed in 1/4 cup parmesan and a 1/4 cup mozzarella to give it a complex cheese flavor. I also increased the beef stock to a scant 1 cup and reduced the flour to 1 Tbsp., instead allowing the beef and sauce to reduce and the flavors to mingle. I also increased the ketchup to 2 Tbsp. for a little more tang. My Husband isn't a big fan of mashed carrots, so I used some organic frozen mixed veggies (peas, carrots, corn, and green beans) as the middle layer. I then topped the potato layer with not 1/4 C of cheddar cheese, but 3/4 cup of cheddar cheese. Excellent recipe and a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheHomemade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Photo by Angie Bunn
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This recipe turned out awesome! I am a vegetarian, so obviously I made some changes. Instead of the ground beef, I used the original Yves veggie ground round. I heated up half a tablespoon or so of olive oil in a pan and put the veggie ground round in, and broke it up and heated it for a few minutes. I then spread that out over the bottom of a 2 & 1/2 liter casserole dish. Next, I layered one batch of homemade mushroom gravy. I got the recipe from the ohsheglows vegan food blog, if you google ohsheglows mushroom gravy you'll find the recipe. Then the mashed carrots, then I added frozen corn. I didn't measure how much, just enough to cover the carrots. Then the mashed potatoes, then the cheese! I ended up doubling the amount of cheese I put on top, about half a cup total. Maybe a bit more. My boyfriend and I love cheese so next time we will double the amount in the mashed potatoes as well. In the oven it went for about 17 minutes, then I switched it to the broiler on low for a few more minutes to melt the cheese more. Honestly I could not tell it wasn't real meat! My boyfriend is not a vegetarian and he says he likes it better than regular meat, it's less greasy. Great recipe. Obviously I omitted the meat, ketchup, and other ingredients added to the meat to make the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Bunn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This is the best shepherds pie I have ever had! The family loved it and agreed that I should make this often :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaMarieIsMe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
best shepherd's pie recipe I've found. I followed the recommendation of another reviewer and added the much needed Worcestershire sauce to the meat. Although I didn't have beef broth, I had veggie broth and added a splash of braggs amino acids (like soy sauce) to liven it up. Yummm! Saved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Richards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
i followed the suggestions of the most helpful member and added the pkg brown gravy mix and frozen peas and carrots. Excellent. Will make again but I am going to make several meals and freeze them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I really love the ease of making this recipe. I did substitute the carrots for peas and corn only because I grated the carrots on accident and could not cook them. It still turned out great. It was such a hit that I was asked to cook it again for a work function. Thank you so much for the great recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I made some changes to the recipe, I use mixed veggies instead of just carrots. Family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,738) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States