Shepherd's Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Loved this recipe! It is economical, satisfying and perfect for a cool fall evening. On the recommendations of others, I made a few slight changes. I diced and boiled the carrots, but didn't mash them afterwards. I added 3 tbsp of Worcestershire sauce to the hamburger before cooking and used 2 tbsp of ketchup. Finally, I sprinkled paprika on the completed dish before baking. Other than that, I followed the recipe and it was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Very quick to make and so much Flavor, I used 1.25 pounds 80/20 ground chuck and added 1/4 cup of Worcestershire sauce to the meat before browning, 2 slices of a large sweet onion chopped.seasoned the beef with salt,pepper,Garlic salt from grinder, and steak seasoning grinder from Thompsons.I did Not drain the beef. Use the appropriate amount for your taste. My garlic salt grinder is 2/3 granulated garlic and 1/3 sea salt so it's mostly garlic. I also substituted a aldi brown gravy packet and 1/2 cup of water for the beef broth at the stage of adding the flour to the beef. I substituted 4oz each frozen pees and carrots to the top of the beef mixture, I had to chop crinkle cut carrots because I couldn't find pea and carrot frozen combo. Family loved it and it was very savory : )I did finish the top of the potatoes with 2 tablespoons of melted butter and sprinkled with paprika for color before baking. there wasn't gravy in the bottom of the casserole pan but it was very moist and plated like lasagna 2 cents please : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This is one of my fav recipies. Its easy and it feeds my boyfriend and i for the whole week with a side salad, which is great because we are both students and dont have a lot of time. I do change it a bit by adding gravy or garlic or bacon to the mashed potato part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I added the onions to the meat and added garlic to the potato (I love some spice) and used onion soup mix as seasoning and it was delicious. I love the layer of smashed carrots.....I never thought of that! Great great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This was awesome. My family ate this up! I did use fake potatoes because it was a weeknight and I used canned peas and carrots. I also used McCormick Brown Gravy and mixed it with a cup of water, worcestershire, ketchup and ground mustard and poured it over the beef after the flour. It was really delicious. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
was bland and tasteless, sorry, I will stick to my own recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I modified a bit: used brown gravy packets and added the ketchup to that. I made some extra so we could spoon it over the potatoes, too. Totally yummy!!! Also, we're not pea and carrot fans, so I used green beans and corn instead. Everyone loved it!!! Like - 2 or 3 hours later they were still talking about it and arguing over who would each the leftovers the next day. So going in my permanent recipe file!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I also used Worcestershire sauce in the beef but added it after it was cooked. I used beef gravy from a jar because I was lazy but really liked it. I might try adding some milk to the mashed potatoes next time...just a bit. This is a good meal....make enough for the next day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This was my first time making it and I enjoyed it. I did tweak the recipe just a little...I added some ground hot Italian sausage, used frozen mixed vegetables instead of just carrots. I also seasoned my ground beef a little, and prepared my mashed potatoes with sour cream and sweetened condensed milk. Also all I had was deli sliced cheese so I added that in with the meat sauce mixture so that it would melt. It turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Great Simple recipe! I would suggest more salt. 'Twas a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,728) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States