Shepherd's Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Made this last night for a bunch of college kids we have over every week. I followed the recipe exactly, except added some Worcester sauce as some others did. Now, I like pretty bland food. I'm not big on tons of spices. I like the simple taste of the foods you are cooking. But this recipe was even way too bland for me. It needed something to liven it up. I added more salt and pepper before putting it together thinking that would be the ticket. But it wasn't. It was just boring. Maybe some marjoram? It is a good base recipe, but it does need something more. Just not sure I'm going to be making it again to find out what it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Delicious and so easy! Short on time so I used instant mashed potatoes doctored up with some butter and a 1/4 tsp. of horseradish. Also, used beef base to make the broth, and made it a little stronger because I used 50/50 ground beef, ground turkey combo. Husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie Dolan
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I used this recipe as a guide not following it so much, but we all enjoyed it, and will make again. My husband would like me to try it with turkey next time. Four stars since I didn't really make the recipe. I used Yukon Golds for the mashed potatos; cooking water, 2% milk, and a good dollap of butter. Someone gave me a bunch of flavored sea salt, so I added a good amount of Hawaiian bamboo jade, and lots of fresh cracked white pepper. I cooked the carrots in the potato water and mashed lightly so they were still chunky. I slow cooked a large white onion so it was almost translucent then partilally carmelized. Added the beef and cooked; a couple pinches of flour, the beef broth (reconstituted crystals). I did use the ketchup (probably tomato paste next time), plus a bunch of shakes of Wosteshire, and a couple shakes of a Louisiana hot sauce. Both fresh cracked black and white pepper, and some garlic medley sea salt. I thin sliced, then lightly chopped, 3/4 of a small head of green cabbage, and added it to the beef, and cooked another few minutes. I layered half the beef mix, all the carrots, the rest of beef mix, and typed with the potatos. The eight year old enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
our family loves it, my very picky child even ate it! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Ortega

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Good starting recipe. Looked at suggestions and made my choices that would suit us. Turned out excellent. Thank you for your recipe and Thanks to those who made suggestions Ani
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
this is bland. Too much potatoes and not enough seasoning, it needs milk, more butter, something. They came out so dry. I made this exactly as the recipe states and was so disappointed. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Naples, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Good Easy weeknight meal. I don't do the carrots but add peas and carrots to the meat mixture. Kids love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Latoya Newton
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This was my first time making this and loved it. I used other suggestions and seasoned the beef with worstershire sauce and used 1 cup of water mixed with a packet of brown gravy instead of the beef broth. I also didn't have any potatoes so I used a packet of mashed potatoes and seasoned with onion and cheese like the recipe says. This will definitely go into dinner rotation. Simple but so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Latoya Newton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Almost perfect... I added a can of corn to up the veggie content!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,793) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States