Shepherd's Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was delicious, easy, and flexible. I used ground turkey, chicken broth, frozen mixed veggies, pepper jack cheese, and red potatoes because it's what I had on hand. I did use about a quarter of a teaspoon of salt in the ground turkey mix and some Worcestershire sauce for flavor. I made the mashed potatoes my usual way, with a whole lot of butter, some milk and some garlic, salt and pepper to taste. While my son rated it 4 stars, I give it 5 stars for flexibility and being an easy weeknight dinner, especially if you make the potatoes and/or ground meat mix ahead of time. I'll be making this again. :) Thanks, Jacquie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This recipe is very good and like other recipe's of Shepherd's Pie it can be a tad bland. Next time I make it I may add a 1/2 envelope of onion soup mix to give it a little more zip. I followed the recipe to a T as far as ingredients however, I cooked the carrots with the onions and did not mash them. After adding the beef they melted in your mouth. I saw no need to add the step of mashing them and layering them separately. I will be trying this again with the onion soup mix and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sarver, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This recipe was a success. My boyfriend ate it all up and loved it from the first bite. I only cook for him and I'm always careful in the recipes I pick because anything too "complicated" to the taste buds confuses him. I added some worcestershire sauce and frozen vegetables and a bit more flour + broth because I'm pretty sure I used 3 1/2 pounds of lean ground beef. I used some leftover mashed taters and some new ones and it tasted great. First time I've ever had "shepherd's" pie, I'm actually going to try making actual shepherd's pie with lamb some time. This recipe was really simple and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Outstanding, I have tried numerous recipes for Shepard's Pie in the past but this one has to rank at the top of the list. The addition of the mashed carrots along with the addition of the Ketchup really pushes this recipe over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. B
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was so tasty and easy to make. My family enjoyed it. I already had most of the ingredients on hand. I made a few adjustments. I used olive oil vs. vegetable. I doubled the meat and added an additional potato. I also used about 2 cups of frozen mixed vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Delicious! I used the gravy packet to season the beef like the other user mentioned. Didn't have wostershire, so I added in parsley flakes and cumin, meat had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Camille
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Very good recipe...its a little bland but once you spice it up a little its very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I make this using ground turkey and with the recommended changes of adding the 1/4 cup of worstershire to the ground turkey and adding a packet of brown gravy mix to 1 cup of water, this recipe was amazing! My husband said that it was the best Shepherd Pie he ever had! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I followed other suggestions and added HP sauce, ketchup and worshire sauce. I also added sweet potato to my potato mix and it made it soooo good. Def making this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I added extra onion, garlic powder, and parsley to the meat as it cooked. I used 1 Cup water with 3 beef bouillon cubes to give the beef broth more flavor. I also added about 1 tbsp of Worcestershire sauce. I added sour cream, milk, and a packet of dry ranch mix dressing to the mashed potatoes. Turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,781) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States