Shepherd's Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
husband loved it! Like others I added A LOT of seasoning to the meat incl 1/4 c worcheshire. Also added double butter to potatoes and 8 oz sour cream. Cooked for 30 min. Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lily
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Brilliant recipe! I modified the recipe due to ingredient availability and taste preference. I browned about one and a half cup of coarsely chopped onion, then added a 1/2 lb mixture of half lean ground turkey (99% FF) and half lean ground beef (94% FF) (along with the called for ketchup, salt, pepper) - to which I had added worcestershire sauce (est 1/4 cup), a bit of red cooking wine (est 2 tbsp), 3 pressed garlic cloves, bit of red pepper flakes (est 1/8 tsp), herbs de provence, and garlic powder. After the meat had cooked, I then added about half a packet of brown gravy/water (per packet instructions). I simmered the gravy/meat mix until the sauce began to thicken, at which time I added steamed peas. Then I layered into a glass dish and topped with mashed potatoes (I was short on time, so I used quickly-made garlic mashed potatoes with a bit of thinly sliced onions). I topped with fat-free mozzarella cheese and baked for about 15 minutes. In my rendition of this recipe, I omitted the flour (the gravy did the thickening), carrots (didn't have any), homemade mashed potatoes (quick-fix), broth (substituted gravy), and cheddar cheese (used mozzarella). I added red cooking wine, worcestershire sauce, fresh pressed garlic, and lots of assorted spices. Next time, I may use a smidge less worcestershire sauce & Herbs de Provence and bit more wine. I found the recipe to be very forgiving, as I didn't measure most of my ingredients as I tossed them in. Turned out fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I had every intention of following the recipe exactly. However, I started scrolling through the reviews and strayed. It was a good stray though. I added the brown gravy packet to the meat along w/a cup of water. And, I eliminated the onions from the mashed potatoes. The family loved it. I would normally go back and try it as written. But this recipe is so easy to personalize, I may even incorporate some ideas of my own. I thought about adding some of the Lipton's Beefy Onion soup mix to the ground beef instead of beef broth and ketchup. Once again, I realize that this changes the game, however, making changes to suit your family's preference isn't a bad thing either. Loved this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This was delicious! I added some fresh minced garlic and mushrooms to the onions. I also added just a small bit of BBQ sauce to the meat while it was cooking. Instead of just carrots, I used frozen mixed veggies. I absolutely love this though. We had company and everyone went back for more including my boyfriend who doesn't like mushrooms and onions! This was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haleyjo Elizabeth Hompstead

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Vazquez
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I'm a novice cook, and I was so pleased with how delicious this came out. Recipe was easy to follow, and I'm sure this will be a recurring meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Made almost exactly as written. Only added sour cream and half & half to mashies, and added chopped orange pepper & worcestershire sauce to the meat. My husband & I thought it was Delishious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
It was good only things I different is mashed carrots and potatoes together and put a layer of corn between beef and potatoes only because I have never seen or eaten shepherd pie without corn turned out yummy thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BCSCAVMOM
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
So, so easy and DELICIOUS!!! My family actually requests this meal regularly. I substitute frozen mixed veggies for the mashed carrots; although I'm sure mashed carrots are equally amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This is regularly my go-to recipe since it's so simple, but I always find my meat mixture lacking in flavor. I can never seem to season it well enough (my fault I'm sure!). I decided to replace all the meat with Johnsonville Sausage, and it made a HUGE difference in flavor! I opted for a Johnsonville Bratwurst since this is essentially "pub food," and despite not being a beer drinker, the beer flavor inside the sausage infused the dish beautifully, and this is how I plan to make it from now on, using various Johnsonville Sausage flavors to see what they all do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella Reynoso

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This was good but lacked flavor. My kids loved it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,804) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States