Shepherd's Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very yummy. Added peas and would use more potatoes next time... I used 7 small & medium potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Loved it! Followed as stated used instant mashed tators and a bag of frozen mixed veggies! Will make again. Thank you, Jacquie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmyjocooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galesburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I've never made shepherds pie before & after reading the reviews I made a few adjustments. I substituted the beef broth with brown gravy mix and a cup of I've never made shepherds pie before & after reading the reviews I made a few adjustments. I substituted the beef broth with brown gravy mix and a cup of water + used 1 1/2 cups of frozen vegetables (thawed) then added 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce in the meat before I browned it. water + used 1 1/2 cups of frozen vegetables (thawed) instead of the carrots then added 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce in the meat before I browned it. I must say it turned out great! The 3 of us ate almost the whole thing! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was delicious, easy, and flexible. I used ground turkey, chicken broth, frozen mixed veggies, pepper jack cheese, and red potatoes because it's what I had on hand. I did use about a quarter of a teaspoon of salt in the ground turkey mix and some Worcestershire sauce for flavor. I made the mashed potatoes my usual way, with a whole lot of butter, some milk and some garlic, salt and pepper to taste. While my son rated it 4 stars, I give it 5 stars for flexibility and being an easy weeknight dinner, especially if you make the potatoes and/or ground meat mix ahead of time. I'll be making this again. :) Thanks, Jacquie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This recipe is very good and like other recipe's of Shepherd's Pie it can be a tad bland. Next time I make it I may add a 1/2 envelope of onion soup mix to give it a little more zip. I followed the recipe to a T as far as ingredients however, I cooked the carrots with the onions and did not mash them. After adding the beef they melted in your mouth. I saw no need to add the step of mashing them and layering them separately. I will be trying this again with the onion soup mix and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This recipe was a success. My boyfriend ate it all up and loved it from the first bite. I only cook for him and I'm always careful in the recipes I pick because anything too "complicated" to the taste buds confuses him. I added some worcestershire sauce and frozen vegetables and a bit more flour + broth because I'm pretty sure I used 3 1/2 pounds of lean ground beef. I used some leftover mashed taters and some new ones and it tasted great. First time I've ever had "shepherd's" pie, I'm actually going to try making actual shepherd's pie with lamb some time. This recipe was really simple and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Outstanding, I have tried numerous recipes for Shepard's Pie in the past but this one has to rank at the top of the list. The addition of the mashed carrots along with the addition of the Ketchup really pushes this recipe over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. B
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was so tasty and easy to make. My family enjoyed it. I already had most of the ingredients on hand. I made a few adjustments. I used olive oil vs. vegetable. I doubled the meat and added an additional potato. I also used about 2 cups of frozen mixed vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Delicious! I used the gravy packet to season the beef like the other user mentioned. Didn't have wostershire, so I added in parsley flakes and cumin, meat had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,735) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States