Shepherd's Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
awesome recipe! added some canned corn during the last minute of simmering and served with some Frank's hot sauce to give it some kick...fantastic. might add some garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Simple and tasted great. I did add peas in addition to the carrots. The beef broth definitely helped to add to the flavor and it might not hurt to even add a few spices to boost it even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Amazing. We replaced the beef with ground lamb, replaced the carrots with corn and peas, and added some garlic powder and worchestire sauce to the meat, and used pepper jack and cheddar cheese. Otherwise followed all the directions exactly. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
First time making this dish EVER but it turned out to be a hit with my family! As many other people have mentioned, using a packet of brown gravy in replace of the flour and beef broth made a difference. Others have also mentioned Worcestershire, however, I opted for A-1 steak sauce simply because I didn't have the other! I also used a few more spices when browning the meat including 'Hamburger' by Grill Mates. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I would also agree with using whatever you have on hand to season the beef, prefer to omit Ketchup. Recommend garlic and onion and a variety of vegetables- carrots, peas, green beans, and corn. To make it easier to get a "slice" I would put a very thin layer of potatoes on the bottom then later with veggies and remaining potatoes and add cheese at the last 10min of baking. I know this isn't the norm but its a little change :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I get asked to make this recipe at least once a week by my boyfriend/friends I think but have to reserve it to more like bi-weekly to keep it a special treat! I use packaged brown gravy on the beef instead of the flour/ketchup/beef broth mixure (because I'm lazy) and just use whatever canned veggies I have at home, usually one can of corn and one of green beans. It makes it more like semi-homemade but I do always make my own mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Quick, easy, grand baby loved it, easy on the budget, all of the right stuff! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nancois
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Delish! Substituted 1/2 of the potato for rutabaga and used quality cheese. Super easy family fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancois

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is a favourite in my home! I don't know how many times I've made this dish :) . As ee like spicy food in this household, the only change I've made is adding a pinch or two of red pepper flakes in the ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
The best recipe for Shepherd's pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States