Shepherd's Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Honey Clover
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Yum yum. I used ground turkey instead of beef but kept everything else almost the same. Looking at the recipe, I thought it would be a bit plain so I added extra peas and corn and also mixed up a special sauce of my own for the beef which included tomato sauce, ketchup, mustard, flour, vinegar, soy sauce, garlic powder, sugar, and also a bit of a curry roux. It was absolutely amazing!! The mashed potato was very delicious too however, I must have used HUGE potatoes or something because the ratio of meat to potato was a bit off; there wasn't a lot of meat to complement the large amount of mashed potato on top. Next time, I will buy more meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Clover

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I added Penzey's adobo to the meat and veggies, as well as subbing in Lea and Perrins Thick Classic Bold Steak Sauce and Sriracha for the ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Washington, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Great dish! Cook often at firehouse, they love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Fantastic recipe. Who cares that it's not traditional Shepherds pie. I like it. I did however make a few changes and additions. I followed the recipe but added two large cloves of garlic when I sauteed the onions. I used vegetable stock instead of beef. I added an extra 1/4 cup of water and sprinkled extra flour to thicken the gravy. a few splashes of Worcestershire sauce is a must. I did mash the carrots but they ended up being chunky ( tasted great ) and added some frozen peas to the veg layer. It was a family hit. I saved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaB6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Made this tonight as I wanted to get rid of some leftover mashed potatoes, and was pleased with the result. Of course, I've never had shepherd's pie before, so I have no reference point lol. Per Erin0220, I used 2 T each of flour & ketchup, 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce, packet of turkey gravy (did not have brown gravy) & 1 cup water. Will def make again. Thanks to OP and other reviewers for contributing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Turned out fantastic...I put the worcestershire sauce in with the beef...made a difference while it was cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Delicious! I added more and different veggies but the dish was fantastic. Everyone wolfed it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magbelieves

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This is a very good recipe for Shepherd's Pie! My son loved it! I only made a few small changes. I put chopped green onions in my mashed potatoes, I used tomato paste instead of ketchup, and I used 1 1/2 cups of broth,corn and thyme to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
it's good, though nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Loved this recipe! It is economical, satisfying and perfect for a cool fall evening. On the recommendations of others, I made a few slight changes. I diced and boiled the carrots, but didn't mash them afterwards. I added 3 tbsp of Worcestershire sauce to the hamburger before cooking and used 2 tbsp of ketchup. Finally, I sprinkled paprika on the completed dish before baking. Other than that, I followed the recipe and it was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,766) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States