Shepherd's Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
We LOVE Shepherd's Pie and this recipe was amazing!! I cut the potatoes in half and added about 1 1/2 TBSP of Mrs Dash otherwise I kept it all the same. The Honey complained that there wasn't any "sauce" but personally I think sauce would've ruined this dish. It was extremely flavorful and YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
My hubby is really particular over things being too bland. This however was a hit! Super easy, really favorable dinner to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
A simple, easy, and good shepherd's pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
finally a recipe that doesn't contain cream of mushroom soup or cream of celery soup...yuck, will try and comment later...sounds yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This makes a fantastic shepherd's pie, though I agree that using all that bouillon would make it way too salty. But I always cook with broth from the carton, and using 1 cup of broth instead of the water, and no bouillon cubes is perfect. With the broth, you can use all the salt and steak seasoning the recipe calls for, and it is seasoned just right. I also always use instant mashed potatoes. This makes the recipe a lot quicker and easier. It's especially tasty with garlic potatoes, and sometimes I will add Romano cheese to the garlic potatoes, an idea I got from another shepherd's pie recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Would definitely add cheese to the potatoes, and maybe make the meat a bit saucier. Otherwise good flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I love the savory flavor of this recipe, and the little "kick" the steak seasoning gives it. But I was disappointed in its saltiness: salt in the bouillon, the salt in the steak seasoning, and actual salt is a LOT of that seasoning! I was also hoping the 90-minute prep-to-table time was an exaggeration, but it took nearly that long. (I doubled the recipe, so I'd have leftovers. I used fresh onion because I was out of dried flakes, basil because I was out of dried rosemary, and topped the pie with shredded Colby.) I will definitely make it again, but using low-sodium beef broth instead of bouillon. And I'll probably make it ahead of time, to avoid a 7:30PM dinnertime. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
We enjoyed the spices, but there was too much liquid. I will reduce it to about 1/4 cup next time. I always add garlic and/or garlic salt to the top of the cheese, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This came out delicious with a few modifications. I mashed the potatoes with butter and milk. I added 2 tbsp of worcestershire sauce and 2 tbsp red cooking wine in place of 1/4 of the water. I cut up a whole onion in place of the dried. I added fresh carrots and green beans for the veggie mix. I omitted the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This really is a 5 star, easy, good recipe; I gave it 4 because 2 small changes were needed for my preference however the basic template of the recipe is delicious and goof-proof. I only used 1 cube instead of 3...after tasting it was already salty enough at that point. Also, while the beef and vegetables were cooking in the liquid, I mixed some of the liquid with a spoonful of flour and added it back to the pan to thicken it a touch. We will definitely be having this again for dinner. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States