Shepherd's Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This recipe turned out very well, but was also VERY salty. Next time, I probably won't use the salt or the steak seasoning, but otherwise this recipe is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Let me just preface this by saying I ONLY made this for my kids-I HATE casseroles, especially shepherds pie-but this one is AWESOME!!! WOW-SOOOO easy to make and very yummy-uh oh- I might be a casserole lover yet! Thanks for the yummy recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
We enjoyed this recipe but must tell you two things. My family and I found it to be VERY salty even though I used the low salt boullion cubes. Therefore, we would recommend leaving out the salt AND the steak spice. Also, the recipe states that it feeds 12. This must be an error because we only fed 4 but probably could get 5 out of it.Thank you, however, for your wonderful recipes. Generally, we love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This turned out to be one of the yummiest things I've ever made. Like other people, I didn't need 7 potatoes, I only used 5 medium potatoes. I left out the rosemary because I didn't have any. To the one cup of water I added just enough red cooking wine to turn the water pink, then added about 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce. I didn't have any steak seasoning on hand, either, so I used about 1 tbsp Herb Chicken Seasoning and 2 tbsp parsley. Also, I used carrots and fresh sliced mushrooms instead of the mixed veggies - didn't have any of those on hand, either. I did use all the other ingredients as directed. Also, when I drained the fat from the beef, there was still a bit of grease left in the pan, so I put the mushrooms, onion flakes plus 1 tbsp minced garlic in the pan. I let them saute for a little bit, then put the beef back in the pan and added the rest of the ingredients. Boyfriend said the first time I made this that it was too salty for him (he avoids salt like the plague) so I've stopped putting in salt and have switched to sodium-free or low-salt bouillion cubes. I've stuck with the herb chicken seasoning, though. I also put shredded cheddar cheese on top of the potatoes, once everything was loaded into the casserole dish. I've made Shepherd's Pie before, but this one was by far the best one ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
So easy and so yummy! I grated some cheader cheese over the top and the husband and kids cleaned their plates! I added some garlic and basil to the meat. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sierramae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
This was quite good! However, the meat and veggies are not in a gravy/sauce type mixture like in most Shepherd's pie. It was delicious though! Next time I will omit the salt, as it did not need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
This is really easy to make and pretty good. A little bit too much potatoes maybe. Everyone liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This was yummy. The meat was flavorful. I made the potatoes extra smooth by whisking them in the stand mixer. The only thing I didn't like was there was no sauce or gravy in the meat. It was just like flavored ground beef, veggies, and mashed potatoes. The shepherds pies I had in England had a sauce to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This was really good except for me stupidly tipping the pan of mashed potatoes a little too far so it all relased at once.. so we had a mashed potato Castle with a meat & gravy moat. The castle ended up being stormed and defeated so its all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Very quick and nutritious, but as per other suggestions, recipie calls for too many potatoes. I scaled back to 5 large and it was still too much. I also sauted the beef with one finely chopped onion and 1 tbsp. garlic, doubled the beef boullion and added 1/4 c red wine about 10 minutes before it was done. My 8 yr. old didn't care for it much, but he's picky. My husband and I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States