Shepherd's Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by SweetToothTiff
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was a quick and simple dinner. It was very good. I read the other reviews and followed the advice to leave out the salt and steak seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetToothTiff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winsted, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Uhrichsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is my 1st time making Shepherds pie after my husband told me that he would like it added to our family menu. I liked it. I have to say that the rosemary really stars in this dish. Don't leave out the rosemary! I made the recipe exactly as described (except I added milk to potatoes). When I make it again (and I will!), I will use less mashed potatoes, There was a bit too much. Also I think if I had left the meat mixture a little runny, without cooking all of the liquid, it would have enhanced the texture. Otherwise, I would say that this will be a regular menu item in our home. Good Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busy Bonnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
My guys absolutely loved this. I did make some of the suggested additions and it was slightly spicy and very tasty. Here's how I made it. For the meat, I used water, onion soup mix, 1 clove minced garlic, 1/2 tsp basil, 1 tsp steak seasoning, 1 TBSP each of ketchup and Worcestershire. I omitted the beef buillion so it wouldn't be too salty. Since I already had sour cream and cheddar, I mashed the potatoes with salt, pepper, 2 pats butter and sour cream. Then I mixed in about 2 tsp dried onion flakes and 1/4 to 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar. Put the mixtures in the casserole,dusted with paprika and baked at 350 for 20 minutes and then broiled it to brown the top. Absolutely fantastic. The potato topping came out tasting like a loaded potato. I was afraid all the different flavors could become cloying but they didn't. Give this recipe a try. It's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
My family really enjoyed this meal. We even had a neighborhood kid eating with us and he said its the best meal he had had in a long time. My kids are really picky and everyone cleaned their plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HJCARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Followed recipe with following exceptions: added fresh sliced mushrooms, red pepper, green pepper. Didn't have Rosemary so used Thyme. Ok dish - girlfiend, son liked it. Possibly due to substitution - seemed to lack something, (flavor-wise)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I switched up the mashed potato portion of this recipe by making them into garlic mashed potatoes. I used a local companies garlic mashed potato seasoning that I swear by. The company is called "The Garlic Box" and they have the best products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisagiesen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I didn't use any of the spices recommended in this recipe since I was missing most of them. Instead, I used worcestershire sauce and Lipton's Savory Garlic and Herb mix in the meat/veggie mixture. I also used lowfat sour cream in the mashed potatoes instead of milk. My husband said it was a bit saltier than he would have liked but he still wants me to make it again. So next time, maybe no salt in the potatoes and very little worcestershire sauce. Unfortunately, I'm a salt addict so I really liked the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETMARIE24

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I absolutely love this recipe!! I make it for my boyfriend and I and he loves it also...he rarely leaves leftovers when I make it! I did change it a bit by adding milk and butter to my mashed potatoes so they wouldn't be too dry and after baking i added a little shredded cheese on top and baked a little longer to melt it...definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Really good base recipe. I browned the meat with chopped onion and garlic. After draining, I added 1/2 tsp dried rosemary, black pepper and Kansas steak seasoning. I used 2 cups water, three packets of Trader Joe's concentrated beef broth and one of the concentrated chicken broth. When it began to boil I added beurre manie (equal parts butter and flour mixed together) and whisked it in til it was all dissolved. Let it come back to a boil and added frozen vegs. Topped it with mashed potatoes (made with milk & butter) and sprinkled it with paprika. Family went nuts over it! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANNIED59

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I spiced up the meat more and minced garlic into it. made the mashed potatoes like I normally would, with butter, salt and pepper and milk. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States