Shepherd's Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was more of a test to see if my husband would eat it because I will eat anything that even resembles a Shepherd's Pie. I used parsley, onion soup mix, Worcestershire sauce, peas, carrots, green beans and corn. I loaded the mashed potatoes with ranch dressing, garlic powder, and cheddar cheese. Portions made of four people and my husband ate the whole plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
my husband loved it. I used prepared mashed potatoes to make it quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Good but I cut in half all the seasonings that it called for. I figured I could add more if need be. Would have been way to salty had I added it all in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I noticed that some of the reviewers found this dish to be too salty, I actually added more salt at the table; just personal preference. Tripled the amount of steak seasoning called for and added some garlic powder. Sautéed onions and green bell peppers with the ground beef, I then stirred in corn and Italian-style tomatoes for veggies. Next time I'll use fresh minced garlic and perhaps some gravy mix or onion soup mix as other reviewers suggested, a bit too bland for my taste buds as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Made this recipe as it was stated, wouldn't change a thing. It was excellent! My son and husband tore it up. The leftovers were gone the next day. Thanks, Christine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This was great, lovely recipe! My kids loved it too! I actually assembled it the night before and put it in the fridge. When I came home from work I just popped it in the oven to bake. I do substitute the rosemary for parsley. I also omitted the salt and added a table spoon of worcestershire sauce and 2 table spoons of ketchup instead. I also upped the back pepper because my family really likes it. The mashed potatoes do need some salt and pepper but a little bit of finely minced green onion helps as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
My hubby and I loved this one. He dislikes the texture of mashed potatoes so I made scalloped potatoes (boxed works just as well)instead for the topping. I followed the reviews by (1) cutting out the salt and steak seasoning (2) Sauteeing the onion flakes and added garlic clove in the fat from beef. Thank you for the excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I did a lot of modification because I didn't have all the ingredients. I used ground chicken instead, only 1 chicken boullion cube and added butter and milk to the mashed potatoes. I also added shredded mozzerella & cheddar cheese on top. That was a great touch! It still turned out really good except, I agree with a few others, it needs some sort of gravy. Next time, I will prepare a gravy to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This was a great recipe with LOTS of flavor. Instead of putting in the frozen vegetables, I added 1/2 a can of corn and 1/2 a can of beans. It was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Way too much seasoning! Shepherd's pie isn't supposed to have so much seasoning. I will definitely cut out most of the seasoning next time and I'll probably use a jar of brown gravy instead of bouillon and water. I was thinking I might do cheddar flavored potatoes on top next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States