Shepherd's Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I made this tonight for dinner. was fantastic. Did not take me quite ah hour to make and i added a few extra ingredients. such as garlic because we love garlic in this house, and Worcestershire because its just an awesome addition to the meat flavor of the dish. I give this 5 stars because its a great base to play around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Excellent! I did as another posted and put a packet of dried onion soup mix into the meat while cook; rather than the bouillons and onions. I did not have steak sauce on hand, so did the 5T of ketchup and 1T Worcestershire sauce. I cut down the cooking time by putting instant potatoes on top. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Mickle Bock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lodi, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This is the most like a traditional English Shepherd's Pie. The only thing is the name; true "Shepherd's Pie" is made with ground lamb - if the pie is made with ground beef it's called "Cottage Pie". This recipe is far better than those that quote cans of soup and other additions - in all my time growing up in England I never had Shepherd's Pie with any sort of soup in it. My mum used to make Shepherd's Pie about once a week since it was cheap and my sister and I loved it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IanB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Meat was bland. My family didn't really care for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fiverenos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
It was yummy in my tummy gooood! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EHayden1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
We love fresh, frozen veg is a 2nd choice - then canned. So, I cooked my chosen veggies al dente. Added just a little more Rosemary and it was delic/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Very tasty and easy to make. We probably shouldn't have, but 2 of us downed the entire casserole in one sitting...it was that good. I would agree though with the other reviewers that it was a little on the salty side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Oh my goodness, this was terrific! I made this tonight as directed with the following exceptions: Instead of beef bouillon I used Knorr Homestyle Stock (1 beef & 1 chicken) I added 2 dashes of Worcestershire sauce, 1 tsp rosemary, 1/4 tsp chopped garlic (the jar type), 1 whole onion instead of powder, I used about 1 1/2 cups water which I thickened a teeny bit with flour because I like gravy in my Shepherd's pie. I also added parsley & garlic. I added a few shakes of pepper but I didn't add salt which was a good thing because the Worcestershire sauce and beef/chicken broth was salty enough. I made the mashed potatoes as I usually do with butter & 18% cream and added about 1 tbsp of ranch dressing. I even added more of the frozen veggies to stretch it because I needed leftovers to make 2 frozen TV dinners with the Rubbermaid divided trays. Before putting it in the oven I put a few dollops of butter on top to help the potatoes brown. This was super yummy and we are looking forward to our homemade TV dinners. The only thing I may not do next time (and there will be a next time)is to omit the Worcestershire sauce because we found it a tad salty. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, it's a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBIRD2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I followed this recipe almost exactly but I used some turkey gravy powder instead of chicken bouillon. I agree it was too salty. I would leave out the salt, steak seasoning and also the rosemary next time. Over all it was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Not bad for lowfat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYDIAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States