Shepherd's Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This was yummy. The meat was flavorful. I made the potatoes extra smooth by whisking them in the stand mixer. The only thing I didn't like was there was no sauce or gravy in the meat. It was just like flavored ground beef, veggies, and mashed potatoes. The shepherds pies I had in England had a sauce to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This was really good except for me stupidly tipping the pan of mashed potatoes a little too far so it all relased at once.. so we had a mashed potato Castle with a meat & gravy moat. The castle ended up being stormed and defeated so its all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Very quick and nutritious, but as per other suggestions, recipie calls for too many potatoes. I scaled back to 5 large and it was still too much. I also sauted the beef with one finely chopped onion and 1 tbsp. garlic, doubled the beef boullion and added 1/4 c red wine about 10 minutes before it was done. My 8 yr. old didn't care for it much, but he's picky. My husband and I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This recipe was awesome. I followed it exactly and was very pleased. My only complaint would be that there wasn't any gravy, but it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Very good, although I did change a few things. I would also recommend about half the amount of rosemary unless you really love it. I used leftover roast beef cut bite sized, and leftover mashed potatoes. I didn't have steak seasoning, so I used Paul Prudhomme's Blackened Redfish Seasoning, which was good but a little much. I will use about half a teaspoon of it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Thanks Christine for this delicious quick and easy recipe. My husband loved it and my mom also - I made it for her when she came to visit - she took the recipe! I made a few adjustments - I read the reviews and listen to them with the mashed potato to add milk & butter - I used Lipton's Beefy onion soup mix instead of the beef bouillon & onion flakes - I left out chicken bouillon and Rosemary - just because I don't like rosemary herb. I used 5 Tbsp ketchup and 1 Tbsp.Worcestershire sause and frozen peas & carrots - It was so tasty, this recipe is definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
This was terrific. I did make a couple changes/additions. Like the other reviewees, I made my potatoes like regular mashed and added butter, a dash of garlic powder and milk. I didn't like the rosemary, so I changed that to parsley. I also added 1 package of brown gravy mix at the end, which made it very savory. You still must reduce the water down to about a 1/4 cup otherwise its too watery. I also added added a clove of garlic, but that's the Italian in me! The frozen peas and carrot mix made it very simple. A sure keeper for my family!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Tierney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
I used 7 HUGE potatoes and had way too much mashed potatoes so next time I will just use 4-5. Instead of mixed veggies I just used a bag of frozen peas and carrots. It came out absolutely wonderful!! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
Outstanding! A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
i love the simplicity of this recipe. tasted great and even the picky eaters in the family loved it. i didnt have any bouillion so i threw in a packet of dry onion soup mix. seemed to work just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States