Shepherd's Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This was yummy. The meat was flavorful. I made the potatoes extra smooth by whisking them in the stand mixer. The only thing I didn't like was there was no sauce or gravy in the meat. It was just like flavored ground beef, veggies, and mashed potatoes. The shepherds pies I had in England had a sauce to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This was really good except for me stupidly tipping the pan of mashed potatoes a little too far so it all relased at once.. so we had a mashed potato Castle with a meat & gravy moat. The castle ended up being stormed and defeated so its all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Very quick and nutritious, but as per other suggestions, recipie calls for too many potatoes. I scaled back to 5 large and it was still too much. I also sauted the beef with one finely chopped onion and 1 tbsp. garlic, doubled the beef boullion and added 1/4 c red wine about 10 minutes before it was done. My 8 yr. old didn't care for it much, but he's picky. My husband and I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This recipe was awesome. I followed it exactly and was very pleased. My only complaint would be that there wasn't any gravy, but it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Very good, although I did change a few things. I would also recommend about half the amount of rosemary unless you really love it. I used leftover roast beef cut bite sized, and leftover mashed potatoes. I didn't have steak seasoning, so I used Paul Prudhomme's Blackened Redfish Seasoning, which was good but a little much. I will use about half a teaspoon of it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Thanks Christine for this delicious quick and easy recipe. My husband loved it and my mom also - I made it for her when she came to visit - she took the recipe! I made a few adjustments - I read the reviews and listen to them with the mashed potato to add milk & butter - I used Lipton's Beefy onion soup mix instead of the beef bouillon & onion flakes - I left out chicken bouillon and Rosemary - just because I don't like rosemary herb. I used 5 Tbsp ketchup and 1 Tbsp.Worcestershire sause and frozen peas & carrots - It was so tasty, this recipe is definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
This was terrific. I did make a couple changes/additions. Like the other reviewees, I made my potatoes like regular mashed and added butter, a dash of garlic powder and milk. I didn't like the rosemary, so I changed that to parsley. I also added 1 package of brown gravy mix at the end, which made it very savory. You still must reduce the water down to about a 1/4 cup otherwise its too watery. I also added added a clove of garlic, but that's the Italian in me! The frozen peas and carrot mix made it very simple. A sure keeper for my family!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Tierney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
I used 7 HUGE potatoes and had way too much mashed potatoes so next time I will just use 4-5. Instead of mixed veggies I just used a bag of frozen peas and carrots. It came out absolutely wonderful!! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
Outstanding! A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
i love the simplicity of this recipe. tasted great and even the picky eaters in the family loved it. i didnt have any bouillion so i threw in a packet of dry onion soup mix. seemed to work just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States