Shepherd's Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I absolutely love this recipe!! I make it for my boyfriend and I and he loves it also...he rarely leaves leftovers when I make it! I did change it a bit by adding milk and butter to my mashed potatoes so they wouldn't be too dry and after baking i added a little shredded cheese on top and baked a little longer to melt it...definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Really good base recipe. I browned the meat with chopped onion and garlic. After draining, I added 1/2 tsp dried rosemary, black pepper and Kansas steak seasoning. I used 2 cups water, three packets of Trader Joe's concentrated beef broth and one of the concentrated chicken broth. When it began to boil I added beurre manie (equal parts butter and flour mixed together) and whisked it in til it was all dissolved. Let it come back to a boil and added frozen vegs. Topped it with mashed potatoes (made with milk & butter) and sprinkled it with paprika. Family went nuts over it! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANNIED59

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I spiced up the meat more and minced garlic into it. made the mashed potatoes like I normally would, with butter, salt and pepper and milk. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I cheat with this recipe. I use refrigerated mashed potatoes when I am in a hurry and 1-1/2 to 2 jars of beef gravy. This is one of my husband's favorites. He claims he could eat it every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This was wonderful. My family loved it and asks for it frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by way2buzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
MY FAMILY REALLY LIKED THIS RECIPE. ALTHOUGH, I DID ADD A COUPLE OF THINGS TO IT. I USED ABOUT 3 OR 4 MORE POTATOES (I LOVE MASHED TATOES!)I ALSO USED BUTTER AND SOURCREAM IN THEM BEFORE I PUT THEM ON TOP OF THE MEAT/VEGGIE MIXTURE. WHEN IT WAS ALMOST DONE IN THE OVEN, I PUT A LAYER OF SHREDDED CHEDDAR CHEESE ON TOP AND STUCK IT BACK IN THE OVEN FOR ABOUT 10 MINUTES. IT WAS SO YUMMY! I WILL DEFINITELY MAKE THIS AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla Cunningham Wilkinson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brighton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kalona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
We thought this was really tasty. The rosemary gave this a wonderful flavor. We all thought it needed some type of gravy or sauce though. I went ahead and made the potatoes like I would regular mashed potatoes with some cream, milk, and a dab of butter plus a few grinds of black pepper. I only made 5 potatoes and we thought it was too much potato topping for the amount of filling. Thanks for sharing this, we had never had shepherd's pie before, but we will be having it again (and again). This is great comfort food on a cool winter's evening. Smelled awesome too! I added osme american/cheddar cheese blend to the top. Great recipe, thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Great Recipe!!! I added a few extra ingredients, used Tastefully Simple Merlot sauce, onion onion, Garlic Garlic and Stubbs Beef Marinade. Then Iadded fresh veggis -squash, zuccini, and onion. My husband and I went back for seconds, so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Meadows, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I would do less worchestire sauce next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This is very good!!! My only suggestion is that you use anywhere from a 1/4 to 1/2 a teaspoon of rosemary. My husband and I both felt that with the full teaspoon all you could taste was the rosemary and you couldn't taste any other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States