Shepherd's Pie Mexicana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Excellent. Like another reviewer, I used can corn and cumin and chili powder instead of taco seasoning. I also added cayenne pepper and used turkey instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I reduced the salt quantities by nearly 50%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I just tried this recipe - Yummy!! The only I changed was to add shredded cheddar cheese, which I added after I baked it for the recommended time. It is a quick & easy meal that I will make again! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaHen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was a very tasty alternative to traditional shepherd's pie. I made it with frozen mixed veg as that is what was on hand & added a can of black beans as suggested by other reviews. This will be made again & I will be sharing this with others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laur3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Added black beans, skipped the peas and added some enchilada sauce to the meat mixture. Spiced up the mashed potatoes by mixing in a little salsa. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I didn't have any potatoes, so I topped it with cornbread batter mixed with cheese and chopped fresh jalapenos and left out the peas. The gang loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I've tried this recipe as directed and switching the veggies to the "Mexicana blend" (corn, chopped onions, peppers and tomatoes, with black beans). I've used mashed potatoes and rosemary garlic mashed potatoes. A nice seasoning blend from the original!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I liked this more than classic shepherd's pie - it was tastier and more interesting. I made a few changes. I halved the peas and corn, added a can of kidney beans, doubled the taco seasoning and left out the spicy salt and put grated cheddar cheese on top of the mashed potato (strongly recommended!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I used black beans instead of peas and sprinkled cheese on top. I used regular seasoned salt, which was fine, but it would have been better had the dish been more spicy...maybe crushed red pepper flakes would have been good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This was good. I used can corn because I hate the taste of frozen. I also don't use packaged seasonings so I used 1 Tbsp of cumin and chili powder and a pinch of crushed red pepper flake. I also heated to milk and butter before added them to the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fowlerville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States