Shepherd's Pie Mexicana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I just tried this recipe - Yummy!! The only I changed was to add shredded cheddar cheese, which I added after I baked it for the recommended time. It is a quick & easy meal that I will make again! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaHen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was a very tasty alternative to traditional shepherd's pie. I made it with frozen mixed veg as that is what was on hand & added a can of black beans as suggested by other reviews. This will be made again & I will be sharing this with others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laur3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Added black beans, skipped the peas and added some enchilada sauce to the meat mixture. Spiced up the mashed potatoes by mixing in a little salsa. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I didn't have any potatoes, so I topped it with cornbread batter mixed with cheese and chopped fresh jalapenos and left out the peas. The gang loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I've tried this recipe as directed and switching the veggies to the "Mexicana blend" (corn, chopped onions, peppers and tomatoes, with black beans). I've used mashed potatoes and rosemary garlic mashed potatoes. A nice seasoning blend from the original!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I liked this more than classic shepherd's pie - it was tastier and more interesting. I made a few changes. I halved the peas and corn, added a can of kidney beans, doubled the taco seasoning and left out the spicy salt and put grated cheddar cheese on top of the mashed potato (strongly recommended!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I used black beans instead of peas and sprinkled cheese on top. I used regular seasoned salt, which was fine, but it would have been better had the dish been more spicy...maybe crushed red pepper flakes would have been good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This was good. I used can corn because I hate the taste of frozen. I also don't use packaged seasonings so I used 1 Tbsp of cumin and chili powder and a pinch of crushed red pepper flake. I also heated to milk and butter before added them to the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fowlerville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Very good. I did take the suggestion of another reviewer, however, and used black beans instead of the peas, and sour cream instead of the milk, for a more Mexican flair. Add just enough milk after mixing the mashed potatoes and sour cream to make it more spreadable, then top the beef mixture. In the last 5 min. of baking, I removed the casserole from the oven, and while it heated up to Broil, I brushed some melted butter over the top of the mashed potatoes and topped this with some shredded tex-mex cheese. Then, under the broiler until lightly browned. This gave it a slightly more crusty top, which appealed to my family. I made up a batch of the "Taco Seasoning I" recipe for use in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I omitted the seasoning salt and doubled up on the taco seasoning. Added a few sprinkles of cayenne. Also used black beans instead of the peas and 1/2 the corn. I used sour cream in the potatoes instead of milk in keeping with the tex mex theme. Also grated some cheese on top of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States