Shepherd's Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
This was an excellent meal. It was very easy for me- and, seeing as i'm only 14, this means very easy. I used all turkey and instant mashed potatoes, and it still came out perfect. The instant potatoes really saved a lot of time and trouble without sacrificing taste. It was a little underseasoned, so i would suggest that you do what i did- add garlic powder. Along with the other veggies, i added a small can of sliced mushrooms, which i love and added some nice texture. I took the advice of other people who reviewed the recipe and put in 3 tablespoons of tomato paste. It really was delicious, and i will definitely make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
Great recipe! I used frozen mixed vegies and added some mushrooms, worchesterhire sauce, and extra cayenne. I also used only ground turkey. Can easily be modifed to use whatever you have in the house. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I made quite a few changes, and this turned out amazing! It was so simple. I added garlic, worchester, cayenne, paprika, seasoning salt, etc. I also used a can of mushrooms and 2 cups of frozen mixed veggies. I added a few tablespoons of parsley to the mashed potatoes for some extra colour. Can't wait to make this again, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Very good...but I did make a few changes. I use just ground beef (1 lb or so)...no ground turkey and season the beef with salt, pepper, and garlic powder, 2 cups beef broth, 3 tablespoons of tomato paste, and I also add 1/2 cup frozen corn, . I followed the directions to cook as they say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2000
What isn't there to like about this recipe. It's simple and easy and tastes great. It's a great one dish meal. The beef broth adds a rich flavor to the dish. I also found that you can add different vegetables to it like green beans and pearl onions. All our friends who've tried this dish have asked for the recipe. I recommend this recipe highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
This was good, but only if you add more spices, as others suggested. I added 1 Tbl. worchestershire sauce to the meat while cooking. Later, I added 1/4 tsp. paprika, 1 tsp. parsley flakes, 1/4 tsp. garlic powder, 1/2 tsp. salt, and (scant) 1/4 tsp. pepper - perfect! I used ground turkey, and lean ground pork that I had on hand, but next time, I think I will use all ground (lean) beef so that it's not so dry. I left off the cheese, as the Shepherd's Pie I had in Ireland didn't have any - I think it's more authentic that way. This recipe just needs a little tweaking here and there, but I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I loved the idea of this recipe, but made my own by altering a few things. I had leftover potatoes and carrots soaking in beef broth from the hideous diasater of a roast I made last week. The beef was too tough, so I gave it to the dogs and saved the rest. I took the potatoes and mashed them for the topping. The carrots were diced and used in the meat mixture. I use 1/3 lb of 95% lean beef, 1/3 lb italian pork sausage, and 1/2 lb of ground turkey. I added garlic salt/pepper, black pepper, more garlic powder, worchester sauce, a small white onion, and some frozen peas. Heat that on the skillet (no oil b/c the beef and pork gives plenty of it). I put it in a 375 preheated oven for 25 mins. It was FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This was a really good meal and a fun one to do on a week night, though not the quickest of meals. When I followed the recipe, I ended up with about a 2:1 ratio of potatoes to meat/veggie mixture. Being that I am a huge fan of mashed potatoes, you might be surprised to know that I plan to reverse this ratio the next time I make this because the flavor of the meat/veggie mix was so good. Having so many potatoes sort of dulled the impact of the spicy mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I made the but altered to my liking. I browned me with pepper, onion powder, and woreshire sauce. After draining meat from fat I then added campbells french onion soup. I strained the soup, added some cornstarch to broth, added to meat then added the onions from soup. Brought that to a bowl then simmered. My potaotes I made fresh but added whipping cream to potates. I used a 1/2 a package of mixed frozen peas and carrots. I layered, meat, vegetables, potatoes, and shredded sharp cheddar cheese to cover potatoes. Then sprinkled paprika and dried parsely on top. Back @ 350* for about 15mins. My two boys LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This is a great base recipe for shepherd's pie. The texture is FANTASTIC ...it reminds me of shepherd's pie I had in England, especially when I added a small can of mushrooms. It is a little bland, though - I added 3 cloves of minced garlic while browning the meat, and then about 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder while simmering, and would still recommend adding more. I also did not add nearly enough salt and pepper, and ended up having to season it after serving. Also, I only used 2 potatoes, as suggested by other reviewers, and felt like that was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States