Shepherd's Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I make this whenever friends are coming home from hospital, or otherwise not able to cook, served in a foil baking dish along with a salad and maybe buns. Freezes well. I usually double it and make with extra lean beef burger. Always appreciated as an easy meal. I usually make it as listed as it is a standard fare that is goes over well with the picky eater or those with diet restrictions. I don
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I thought this recipe was easy, I didn't add any supplemental spices to the meat mixture, but I did season the mashed potatoes with salt and garlic powder. I have to stay dairy free, so when there's no cheese on top, you have to have some flavor in your tators. I also substituted the fat free milk with original flavor Almond Milk and left out the beef, just used 1 lb of turkey. Thought it was delish. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
My family loved this!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
With many of the suggested changes, this comes out well. My advice to people reading the reviews regarding how many potatoes to use: If you use four medium potatoes, the recipe is fine. I cut back based on many of the reviews and had skimpy potatoes. Four large baking potatoes and you'd have a lot! So four regular medium sized potatoes, and it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made it with my dad on Saint Patrick's day and it was good!!! I liked it allot especialy the potatoes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I started making this almost 2 yrs ago, and my family LOVES it. My husband is my biggest critic of my food, and he eats this up every time I make it (there's really not many dishes I make that he DOESN'T like, lol). Only thing I did was seasoned the meat w/ some adobo, garlic powder..the first time I made it I noticed the meat was a little bland, so after that I started seasoning it before i added it to anything. This is the perfect recipe for Shepard's pie. Thanks for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I added some butter and garlic powder to the potoates. I used all ground beef and added some balsamic vinegar to the beef mixture as it seemed to be lacking in flavor. I added a ton of spices to the meat mixture as well. I used an entire can of broth as there wasn't a lot of liquid. Used a mixture of frozen carrots, corn and beans. Kids enjoyed it, hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I chose to use all ground turkey instead of beef and it was delicious! Rated a 9 out of 10 by my husband and I'm sure we'll be enjoying this dish again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
After reading the other reviews about this dish being bland, I added some garlic powder, paprika, and worchestershire sauce to the ground beef, but still found the recipe to be bland. It definitely was not tasty enough to justify the prep time and I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Recipe was good, used canned mixed veggies and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States