Shepherd's Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2000
What isn't there to like about this recipe. It's simple and easy and tastes great. It's a great one dish meal. The beef broth adds a rich flavor to the dish. I also found that you can add different vegetables to it like green beans and pearl onions. All our friends who've tried this dish have asked for the recipe. I recommend this recipe highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I made the but altered to my liking. I browned me with pepper, onion powder, and woreshire sauce. After draining meat from fat I then added campbells french onion soup. I strained the soup, added some cornstarch to broth, added to meat then added the onions from soup. Brought that to a bowl then simmered. My potaotes I made fresh but added whipping cream to potates. I used a 1/2 a package of mixed frozen peas and carrots. I layered, meat, vegetables, potatoes, and shredded sharp cheddar cheese to cover potatoes. Then sprinkled paprika and dried parsely on top. Back @ 350* for about 15mins. My two boys LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I made quite a few changes, and this turned out amazing! It was so simple. I added garlic, worchester, cayenne, paprika, seasoning salt, etc. I also used a can of mushrooms and 2 cups of frozen mixed veggies. I added a few tablespoons of parsley to the mashed potatoes for some extra colour. Can't wait to make this again, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Yummy! I didn't have ground turkey, so I used 3/4 pound of leanest ground beef (less than 10% fat). I also didn't have carrots, so I added thawed frozen green beans to the peas. My tomato paste was flavored with pesto, and I used about 3 Tbsp. - it had a great flavor. I also added garlic powder. I used about 1-1/4 cups of beef broth. It was, in every regard, a very tasty and very simple dish. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
This recipe turned out very good for me. After reading the ratings I knew to season it well. I used ground turkey and some mild sausage which tasted great and I cooked the onions with the meat to add more flavor. I also used some seasoned salt and pepper to add some flavor ( not too much). I added a 3 tablespoons of tomato paste and it was just enough. Last I put a generous amount of cheddar cheese on the potatoes. My husband loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Excellent weeknight dinner. Whole family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
i thoguht this recipe was great. it time to prepare, but was worth it. I was able to eat it a couple of nights for dinner, plus a few lunches. I am single so it is hard to cook for 1 all the time, but i love these comfort recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
easy, delicious recipe that totally hit the spot! I made some changes: -added a can of corn -omitted beef broth and instead prepared the meat using HOT taco mixture to give it a little kick. Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I came across this recipie when i had extra mashed potatoes in the fridge..it worked out great! I did not do the cornstartch thing...i can never quite get that right. I would have added a few more onions thats it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Great recipe! I changed a few things to simplify-just used turkey instead of any beef, and I used a 10 oz package of mixed vegetables to cheat on the carrots and peas! Also ran out of cornstarch but I used whole wheat flour and that more than did the trick! It makes tons for one person, I'll be eating this for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeadMansParty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States