Shepherd's Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2000
What isn't there to like about this recipe. It's simple and easy and tastes great. It's a great one dish meal. The beef broth adds a rich flavor to the dish. I also found that you can add different vegetables to it like green beans and pearl onions. All our friends who've tried this dish have asked for the recipe. I recommend this recipe highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
This was ok for a lower fat dish. I used venison for the meat and corn instead of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLY1966
Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
It seemed like I was just eating mashed potatoes.. the ratio seemed to be off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
Great recipe! I used frozen mixed vegies and added some mushrooms, worchesterhire sauce, and extra cayenne. I also used only ground turkey. Can easily be modifed to use whatever you have in the house. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Yummy! I didn't have ground turkey, so I used 3/4 pound of leanest ground beef (less than 10% fat). I also didn't have carrots, so I added thawed frozen green beans to the peas. My tomato paste was flavored with pesto, and I used about 3 Tbsp. - it had a great flavor. I also added garlic powder. I used about 1-1/4 cups of beef broth. It was, in every regard, a very tasty and very simple dish. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
Very good! I used all turkey. I think it definitely needs to have some ground beef in it, maybe all ground beef. I used frozen mixed vegetables and instant mashed potatoes to save time and trouble. I also think a little more tomato paste would improve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
A good, simple recipe. I added mushrooms, green and red peppers and extra carrots to make it a bit more substantial. I also used more beef broth and added oregano and parsley for a bit more flavour. Instead of using the mashed potatoes here I used my favourite recipe from deliaonline.com which is healthier and uses quark cheese (my favourite soft cheese). Overall a good comfort food recipe which can adapt to whatever additions you decide to put in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
This recipe was okay but not extrodinary. It was a little bland. I used a bag of mixed frozen vegtables instead of just carrots and peas and eliminated the butter in the mashed potatoes to cut down on the fat. I will probaly make this agian but perhaps I'll add a little more meat and alot of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
This was good, but only if you add more spices, as others suggested. I added 1 Tbl. worchestershire sauce to the meat while cooking. Later, I added 1/4 tsp. paprika, 1 tsp. parsley flakes, 1/4 tsp. garlic powder, 1/2 tsp. salt, and (scant) 1/4 tsp. pepper - perfect! I used ground turkey, and lean ground pork that I had on hand, but next time, I think I will use all ground (lean) beef so that it's not so dry. I left off the cheese, as the Shepherd's Pie I had in Ireland didn't have any - I think it's more authentic that way. This recipe just needs a little tweaking here and there, but I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
This recipe turned out very good for me. After reading the ratings I knew to season it well. I used ground turkey and some mild sausage which tasted great and I cooked the onions with the meat to add more flavor. I also used some seasoned salt and pepper to add some flavor ( not too much). I added a 3 tablespoons of tomato paste and it was just enough. Last I put a generous amount of cheddar cheese on the potatoes. My husband loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States