Shepherd's Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
easy, delicious recipe that totally hit the spot! I made some changes: -added a can of corn -omitted beef broth and instead prepared the meat using HOT taco mixture to give it a little kick. Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
i thoguht this recipe was great. it time to prepare, but was worth it. I was able to eat it a couple of nights for dinner, plus a few lunches. I am single so it is hard to cook for 1 all the time, but i love these comfort recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Excellent weeknight dinner. Whole family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I made quite a few changes, and this turned out amazing! It was so simple. I added garlic, worchester, cayenne, paprika, seasoning salt, etc. I also used a can of mushrooms and 2 cups of frozen mixed veggies. I added a few tablespoons of parsley to the mashed potatoes for some extra colour. Can't wait to make this again, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I made the but altered to my liking. I browned me with pepper, onion powder, and woreshire sauce. After draining meat from fat I then added campbells french onion soup. I strained the soup, added some cornstarch to broth, added to meat then added the onions from soup. Brought that to a bowl then simmered. My potaotes I made fresh but added whipping cream to potates. I used a 1/2 a package of mixed frozen peas and carrots. I layered, meat, vegetables, potatoes, and shredded sharp cheddar cheese to cover potatoes. Then sprinkled paprika and dried parsely on top. Back @ 350* for about 15mins. My two boys LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
This is really good. I make it on a semi-regualr basis, because i know i can ALWAYS depend on it. I use instant mashed potatoes to save time, and all ground turkey because that's what i have. I also add a can of mushrooms to it, and 2 more tbs of tomato paste. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
This was an excellent meal. It was very easy for me- and, seeing as i'm only 14, this means very easy. I used all turkey and instant mashed potatoes, and it still came out perfect. The instant potatoes really saved a lot of time and trouble without sacrificing taste. It was a little underseasoned, so i would suggest that you do what i did- add garlic powder. Along with the other veggies, i added a small can of sliced mushrooms, which i love and added some nice texture. I took the advice of other people who reviewed the recipe and put in 3 tablespoons of tomato paste. It really was delicious, and i will definitely make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
This recipe turned out very good for me. After reading the ratings I knew to season it well. I used ground turkey and some mild sausage which tasted great and I cooked the onions with the meat to add more flavor. I also used some seasoned salt and pepper to add some flavor ( not too much). I added a 3 tablespoons of tomato paste and it was just enough. Last I put a generous amount of cheddar cheese on the potatoes. My husband loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
This was good, but only if you add more spices, as others suggested. I added 1 Tbl. worchestershire sauce to the meat while cooking. Later, I added 1/4 tsp. paprika, 1 tsp. parsley flakes, 1/4 tsp. garlic powder, 1/2 tsp. salt, and (scant) 1/4 tsp. pepper - perfect! I used ground turkey, and lean ground pork that I had on hand, but next time, I think I will use all ground (lean) beef so that it's not so dry. I left off the cheese, as the Shepherd's Pie I had in Ireland didn't have any - I think it's more authentic that way. This recipe just needs a little tweaking here and there, but I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
This recipe was okay but not extrodinary. It was a little bland. I used a bag of mixed frozen vegtables instead of just carrots and peas and eliminated the butter in the mashed potatoes to cut down on the fat. I will probaly make this agian but perhaps I'll add a little more meat and alot of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States