Shepherd's Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I like other raters didn't have the ground beef on hand so I made it with all gournd turkey. It was very good and next time I'll do the same. I added more cheese to the top too. Good texture and flavor. Will definately make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I used 1 lb. ground turkey and no beef. Also was out of tomato paste so I used about 5 Tb. of tomato sauce instead. It still turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I made this last night, and I agree with those that say add extra seasoning. It was good, but it needed a bit of oomph. I also used carrots and squash instead of peas, and buffalo instead of ground turkey. And yes, add more tomato paste. I'll definitely make it again - it was quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This is a great base recipe for shepherd's pie. The texture is FANTASTIC ...it reminds me of shepherd's pie I had in England, especially when I added a small can of mushrooms. It is a little bland, though - I added 3 cloves of minced garlic while browning the meat, and then about 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder while simmering, and would still recommend adding more. I also did not add nearly enough salt and pepper, and ended up having to season it after serving. Also, I only used 2 potatoes, as suggested by other reviewers, and felt like that was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Maybe I did something wrong but my husband wouldn't even eat this! (I don't like shephards pie so I didn't have any)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I loved the idea of this recipe, but made my own by altering a few things. I had leftover potatoes and carrots soaking in beef broth from the hideous diasater of a roast I made last week. The beef was too tough, so I gave it to the dogs and saved the rest. I took the potatoes and mashed them for the topping. The carrots were diced and used in the meat mixture. I use 1/3 lb of 95% lean beef, 1/3 lb italian pork sausage, and 1/2 lb of ground turkey. I added garlic salt/pepper, black pepper, more garlic powder, worchester sauce, a small white onion, and some frozen peas. Heat that on the skillet (no oil b/c the beef and pork gives plenty of it). I put it in a 375 preheated oven for 25 mins. It was FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Delicious! I used instant mashed potatoes to save some time and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This was a really good meal and a fun one to do on a week night, though not the quickest of meals. When I followed the recipe, I ended up with about a 2:1 ratio of potatoes to meat/veggie mixture. Being that I am a huge fan of mashed potatoes, you might be surprised to know that I plan to reverse this ratio the next time I make this because the flavor of the meat/veggie mix was so good. Having so many potatoes sort of dulled the impact of the spicy mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Great recipe! I changed a few things to simplify-just used turkey instead of any beef, and I used a 10 oz package of mixed vegetables to cheat on the carrots and peas! Also ran out of cornstarch but I used whole wheat flour and that more than did the trick! It makes tons for one person, I'll be eating this for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeadMansParty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I came across this recipie when i had extra mashed potatoes in the fridge..it worked out great! I did not do the cornstartch thing...i can never quite get that right. I would have added a few more onions thats it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States